We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, cool, conceptual, no air con, unconventional”
Review of Lux 11

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lux 11
Ranked #219 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 4 September 2006

This is a very stylish hotel with a cool restaurant. Great location.
I really enjoyed it, but would probably chose a different hotel for a short trip.

The staff is young, German and hip. So don't expect stiff service.
The room is stylish, some designs are useless though ( I nearly broke my arm every time I used the sink - you'll have to experience to understand this comment).

It is an appartment hotel and you will get a good price if you stay more than just a few days. I don't understand the kitchen concept in there. No Air con - for americans not familiar with European hotels -> better not come here.

Also I like my bed being made daily when I am on a short culture trip.
So in all a little overdesigned, the appartment concept will soon be abandoned I guess. But it is a great place - it just fits the location: Berlin is young, improvising, experimental, relaxed, European, unconventional, multiculti, so utterly cool -> same is the LUX

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Lux 11 for five nights (13 Aug through 18 Aug) and thought it was a great little hotel. We booked a junior suite with a view of the TV tower and loved looking down on the city streets at night. The rooms are not like those of your typical hotel...there is a lot of concrete (floors, sinks, shower, counter tops) and a very large rainshower that's right in the bedroom area and separated only by a glass wall. The furniture is modern but very comfortable ... especially the king size bed! Maid service is every three days, unless you request it daily and pay an additional daily charge. It is definitely a modern, hip establishment geared toward a younger clientele, but it was a lot of fun even for "old folks" like us. Our room was very clean, and the staff members (all of whom looked like very well groomed college kids) were extremely friendly, always smiling and very helpful in advising us how to get places, where a good internet cafe was, where the closest bank machine was, etc. (TIP: Make sure you say "bank machine" and not "ATM"..."ATM" just drew looks of confusion.) Contrary to what others have said, I think the staff at the Lux 11 were exceptional. The location of the hotel was perfect...just a five minute walk from both Alexanderplatz and Hackeschoffer Hoff and surrounded by tons of restaurants, cafes and shops. If you want to stay at a traditional hotel that could be transplated in any city around the world without noticing a difference, don't stay at the Lux 11. If you want to stay somewhere really unique that encompasses the vibrancy of the rapidly changing eastern section of Berlin, then the Lux 11 is for you. We had a great time during our stay at the Lux 11 and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank osumom311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

If you are looking for a stylish boutique hotel/appartment in Mitte (the place to be in Berlin), you should go for Lux 11. Excellent location, good service (though no room-service), very clean and reasonable in price.

Stayed: April 2006
11  Thank Urban76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2006

This was supposed to me the first stop on a 3-leg European trip. As soon as I arrived I knew things were not going to go as planned. The front desk person informed me that there would be no towel or maid service and after checking into the room, I noticed there was no airconditioning--making the room unbearibly hot. There were also mildew stains on the uncomfortable concrete tub and the room was anything but warm and inviting. This place is a joke--I can't imagine anyone finding it alluring. The staff is unprofessional and unfriendly--the place has the charm of a prison. Within 5 minutes, I asked to check out. The front desk person pleaded with me to stay, but leaving was one of the smartest decisions I've ever made. Checked into the Westin--stayed in one of their brand new spa suites--and had one of the best stays of my life.


  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jason5080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lux-eleven, Front Office Manager at Lux 11, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2006
Google Translation

This wicked critisism is not suitable, so we have to take a statement.
We are a Apartmenthouse, so general cleaning is every third day, of course you can change the towels between our office hours.
Cleaningservice can also be booked daily. You will find all the information on our webside as well in our booking confirmation.
Our house is opened since one and a half year, so we do not have any mildew in our tubs.
These guests stayed in the room by about one or two hours, so we charged the 80 % cancellation amount, this is a standard in every Apartmenthouse or Hotel.
We are frank for critisism to make a optimum service and to improve our house.
We regret that this guest has a false imagination of a Apartmenthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2006

We spent a whole week in this extravagant place and decided to book a junior suite for 165,00 EUR. Having been a guest in some other fine Berlin designhotels, I must say this one is by far the best.
The staff is very, very professionel and catering to every need on request, and absolutely friendly. No matter whom you will meet, the bellboy, the ladies from the housekeeping or a manager everyone will wish you a good day. And it seemed to me, they really meant it - that was not just the result of good training. Everybody is rushing arround with a smile.... we like that very well and really felt home.

The room was spacious, nicely decorated with a rooms-smell called callas, the bed perfect, two different choices shower-amenities (one for ladies and one for gentlemen). we've had a large flatscreen tv with a dvd player and we enjoyed our own cds when beeing in the room and no boring hotelradio or similar.

The location is convenient and very hip: at the Hacksche Hoefe, directly in the mitte district. you can rush out of the hotel and you are immedialty in teh center of the hippest and coolest district of berlin.

I can highly recommend this hotel! and, however, i've never seen so much beautiful, young and good looking people (all guest) in any other place i've been before. everybody is ultrastylish and look like models, actors and celebrities...

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank swiss-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Weinmeister
The Weinmeister
#240 of 633 in Berlin
505 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Capri by Fraser Berlin
Capri by Fraser Berlin
#119 of 633 in Berlin
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux 11

Address: Rosa-Luxemburg-Str. 9-13 | 10178 Berlin, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $137 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux 11 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Berlin's pulsating and hip central district of Mitte, amidst creative and chic fashion shops, galleries, trendy media agencies and a myriad of culinary locations, the 72-apartment Lux 11 opened on July 1st 2005. The renowned London-based architect team, Silvestrin/Salmaso, has elegantly fused this stylishly modern structure with its historic setting. With interiors oriented towards hospitality, spaciousness and comfort, the Lux 11's open-plan guest rooms and public spaces provide natural scenery in tones of Chinese green for the gleaming bleached wood furniture and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lux 11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux 11 Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing