We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of El Loco

El Loco
Ranked #5 of 9,127 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$37
Description: Welcome to EL LOCO! The restaurant "El Loco", Spanish for “The madman“, opened on May 1, 2008 in the center of the historical old town of Köpenick. It was the venue of the official championship in „Spicy Eating“ - the fist one of its kind in Germany. You can witness the preparation of your food in our show kitchen any time - where else can you see and experience that? All of our dishes are served with a tasty basic spiciness but you can also choose how hot you want to be. We are offering a selection of sauces/dips with various degrees of spiciness (Scoville-units). *Scoville: The Scoville test, based on the Scoville scale, is a method developed in 1912 by pharmacologist Wilbur L. Scoville in order to determine the spiciness of the fruits of the pepper plant. First, the value was determined indirectly and purely subjectively, but today it can also be determined by experiment. The assessment is dependent on the proportion of the capsaicin contained in the dried fruit,
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to EL LOCO! The restaurant "El Loco", Spanish for “The madman“, opened on May 1, 2008 in the center of the historical old town of Köpenick. It was the venue of the official championship in „Spicy Eating“ - the fist one of its kind in Germany. You can witness the preparation of your food in our show kitchen any time - where else can you see and experience that? All of our dishes are served with a tasty basic spiciness but you can also choose how hot you want to be. We are offering a selection of sauces/dips with various degrees of spiciness (Scoville-units). *Scoville: The Scoville test, based on the Scoville scale, is a method developed in 1912 by pharmacologist Wilbur L. Scoville in order to determine the spiciness of the fruits of the pepper plant. First, the value was determined indirectly and purely subjectively, but today it can also be determined by experiment. The assessment is dependent on the proportion of the capsaicin contained in the dried fruit,
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Read the reviews on tripadvisor and went for it. A train ride and a walk later we arrived at opening on a Friday at 16 pm without a reservation. The waiter fixed a table although it seemed to be sold out. Very good service and nice personell. Well above average food. We had burgers. Maybe the mexican stuff was even better. We were completely satisfied though. Thanx!!

Thank Rickard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 203 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Small and cozy place. The food was really good and tasty, very friendly service. Highly recommended, absolutely worth to visit.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Loco, Inhaber at El Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018
Google Translation

Dankeschön ‼️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Good Mexican food. The Argentinian steak in my meal was cooked perfectly and tender. The chicken quesadilla had a generous amount of tender chicken and was also very good. Being from the US, this isn’t exactly the same as “Mexican” food at home, but it was all very well done and a good value.

1  Thank goodolebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

El Loco is a small and cozy place. Very good service. I couldn't read the German menu and just ask for some vegetarian food. They mix some delicious for me. They want you to try the homemade chili sauce which is very nice.


Overall a very nice place with good food and very good service

1  Thank Mustafa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I visited on recommendation and was pleasantly surprised. The chili con carne was amazing, as were the nacho dips. However, the sweet potato fries were the best I ever had, and I had them in many places.

Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Loco also viewed

 

Been to El Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing