We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap city break”
Review of A&O Hamburg City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A&O Hamburg City
Ranked #63 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The hotel is close to the Hamburg main train station from which you can take a lot of buses or U-Bahn to reach in any point of the city. It has also a U-Bahn station very close, too.
Rooms are small and simple, breakfast it was ok, good coffee and fresh fruits.
As price, we had a special voucher of discount, so we payed for 2 nights with breakfast, 2 persons, 90 euros. But if we would have to pay the normal rake price, is way too expensive.

Room Tip: close to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andrra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed there for two nights in a private room for two people, private bathroom and all, and it only cost 20€ per person per night. We had to pay extra for breakfast but not that much. Sure, it is no luxury hotel and there are lots of other guests (yeah, other people like budget options too, what do you expect?), but for the price we paid it was perfectly alright. it was also very clean and tidy and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It's a high building. If you get a room on the top floor you don't hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martina_libi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Main thing to this hostel is the location its less than a 5 min walk to the underground and mainline rail. Its 15min walk to the central station and attractions.
The room was large very clean with typical type beds for Europe. Lift to all floors and there are stains on the corridor carpets
Staff are really friendly helpful with good spoken english. There are to bar rooms, a lounge and a sky bar, with reasonable prices.
The down sides are, it is a hostel therefore lots of young ones running around and the wifi is not free, other than a 2 mb when you register with A&O.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank fe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

In this hostel you have to pay extra for the sheets. That was an unpleasant surprise when we arrived. Also, we didnt have a good experience because when we arrived at the room all the beds were messy, so we didnt know if there were already some people in there (they dont have numbers on the bed, so its not possible for you to recognize your bed). We had to go all the way to the front door to complain about it. They also have a double couple bed inside the shared room (which is really awkward for a hostel!)

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

one side is hostel and one side hotel; ok I knew that; BUT, I didn't know the two spill over and the service on hotel side is at the hostel level; noisy all over, out of control kids running everywhere; street sounds awful from cheap thin poorly insulated windows; mattresses HARD (do they buy them from the same supplier as prisons and army barracks use??) service at the bar is SLOOOOOW as the same staff do reception AND bar; the room floor and fitting are if I am polite 'basic'; fllor cold, no carpeting, no amenities in bathroom, towels ''well used''/

now if I am paying budget prices. Ok. BUT THIS FOR MORE THAN 130EUROS PER NIGHT?????????

NEVER EVER AGAIN

Room Tip: I doubt they have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Superbude St. Georg
Superbude St. Georg
#51 of 321 in Hamburg
356 reviews
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#52 of 321 in Hamburg
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
#65 of 104 in Hamburg
436 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hammer Kirche
#66 of 104 in Hamburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Hamburg City

Address: Spaldingstrasse 160, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: $41 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Hamburg City 2*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hamburg City offers modernly furnished single, double or family rooms with a great hotel standard (hotel area) and spacious 4 to 8 dorms with comfortable beds (hostel area). The spacious lobby and entrance area, with billiard and table soccer as well as a kids' play area, provides a welcoming atmosphere with an international charm. New: Wi-Fi is free of charge in every room and in all public areas! Our A&O Hotel has a central location and very good connections to all public transportation. The S+U-Bahn stop "Berliner Tor" (S1, S2, U2, U3) is only a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The main train station is a 20-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your A&O Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing