We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Central location with easy access to Hbf. Hotel itself is not as palatial as the name suggests. Room was large, with little thought to furniture/ layout and lighting was inadequate. Wifi was also a bit hit and miss....

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank blokeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This is an average hotel, which functions well. It is in the neighbourhood of the old city centre. Walking distance. It does not have much charme, no flowers, no positive surprises. The staff is friendly and helpful. And the breskfast is very good.
But the BIG problem is that the beds are stone hard, very uncomfortable indeed. The free wife is weak on the second floor and drops off frequently. And parking is a problem, as the hotel only owns a few parking places at the bsck, and they cannot be pre-reserved.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Niels Jørgen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

I started this review by giving it a 4 (or rather 4,5), but ultimately I thought that it was not quite right. It is more of a 9/10, but 4/5 will be not fair when considering our very pleasant experience.

The only reason for giving it a 4 would be because it is not in a 'nice' area (neither in a forest nor near a lake nor on a quiet street full of cozy restaurants). Also, I can well imagine that if we were solely on the railway side, it could have been a different kind of experience.

Anyway, the hotel worked for us. We parked in the street and managed without a fine. The building itself is super cool, if you are into old timers. The place is 120 years old, if I remember correctly, and used to house railway workers and some offices. Ask the staff to learn more, but the building is certainly cool.

The entrance hall and the hotel in general could do with some brighter colors, but maybe that's the point. It did not bother us. The room, however, was massive. I thought it was a suite, but apparently it was a superior room. I wonder what size the suite is. Can't remember the room number, but it was the last room down the corridor. It faced both sides: large bedroom facing the street and the small one facing the trains. The bathroom was also large, with a shower and a bathtub. Plenty of space.

Good selection of TV channels, if that's important. Quite centrally located with just 10-15 minutes needed to reach the central part at a leisurely pace (not that we found there was a lot to see or do in Hannover, but that's another post....). The beds were very comfortable. And the breakfast was very nice: good variety and selection of items.

So, yeah, definitely 9/10 :) If you happen to be in the city, do not look for anything else. This is a nice place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yuri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Pretty good area of Hannover. Bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk,and a short stroll to the station. The hotel itself is good- our room was a reasonable size, with a good bathroom and comfortable bed. WiFi was a bit scratchy at times but generally ok. Breakfast was good ,some reasonable hot choices and the usual breads and cold meats. For the price we payed we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Azurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Hotel is located in central Hanover; which is very convenient if you're on a business trip. The location overall is not crowded or noisy though. You'll have good restaurants and malls nearby. Metro is also walking distance away. .

Nice spacious and very neat & clean rooms with all great facilities. Staffs are nice and helpful. We got complementary breakfast and food was tasty.

I would've rated excellent if the wifi would not have been so pathetic. It get's disconnected every now and the signal is also very poor which leaves you very very frustrated.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milugtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Grand Hotel Mussmann
#16 of 159 in Hannover
197 reviews
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
#5 of 159 in Hannover
481 reviews
Mitte
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hannover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Hannover
#1 of 159 in Hannover
617 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#29 of 159 in Hannover
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Address: Lavesstr. 77, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: $142 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing