We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, central, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Wiegand
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The location of the hotel is excellent , the negative side is NO parking place for car when you arrive
Gate to the entrance is closed after 9:00 pm and you have to ring and then to wait
it took more then 10 min until someone reacted
The hotel is nice, rooms are basic, good quality of bed and linen, amenities basic
Most important - the staff is very friendly and supportive

Room Tip: my room was facing inside a other house, it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Just the one Saturday night here as a base to explore a new city. The small hotel is well located on the western edge of the city centre, no more than 10 minutes brisk walk from the station and similar distance from the Old Town and shopping heart of the city. It's also well positioned to get to the Herrenhausen Gardens on foot or by tram.
One peculiarity of the hotel is that there is no public entrance or reception. The hotel has a sign on the street but you have to buzz and someone will come and let you in, take you through a courtyard to Reception. On check in, however, your room key does allow to open this door.
My 'business' room was on the third floor, there is no lift but the man on the front desk took my small suitcase up while I was out (phew!). My room was on the large side with separate bathroom, up three stairs. It was a little weird that you could not see out of the part frosted windows as they looked out to residential properties. However the bed was comfortable, as was the sizeable sofa while the room also had a substantial desk and some funkily coloured lit side tables and some bright pink features.
The bathroom was also quite spacious with shower over the bath; water pressure was good. Getting into the bath potentially could be a little difficult if you were less mobile as the sides were quite high
What the room did lack, however, was air conditioning (though there were radiators for heating) and the room was pretty warm on arrival. When I mentioned this to the man on the Front Desk (sorry, I can't recall names), he very kindly took his fan up to the room, when I was out at dinner.
Breakfast was an additional charge but reasonable value with a wide range of good options.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay, being flexible with an extra hour late check-out. Wifi quality was also good.
Overall I was pleased with my hotel choice and it certainly contributed to a thoroughly enjoyable weekend in Hannover.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful rooms! The only downside was the fact that there aren't any elevators. You have to walk up many flights of stairs to get to your room. Also, we arrived on Sunday, and they had the entire property locked down. We were forced to stand outside and ring the door bell 5 or 6 times before anyone opened.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. I loved the rooms and the small details that is placed into each room. We rented out 3 rooms, and each was beautiful! Breakfast was also very delicious. A+!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brandon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Plus
Very good position - Situated closed to both railway station (10 min walk) and downtown
A very nice room, with comfortable bed and facilities for coffee and tea
A super breakfast - good diversity and quality
A very nice team, polite, very helpful

Minus
No air conditioning BUT taking in consideration the Germany's weather I assume that is not something you really need

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We got a friendly welcome, and there was a garage (12€ extra) to park the car. The garage even did fit our Dodge Ram so it was big! The room was awesome. Nice to look at and very very clean! There was a coffeemachine and free Tea, water and fruit in the room. The bathroom was very modern and very clean. There were bathrobes and Large towels available. inside the bathroom was a Mini basket with fresh combs, cottons, etc. I would go back immidiatly. There is no elevator, but the supervisor offered to help with the bags. Close to the City (5min Walk) and lots of Stores.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hannover hotels
Mitte
Novotel Suites Hannover City
List
prizeotel Hannover-City
prizeotel Hannover-City
#3 of 159 in Hannover
206 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Hannover Mitte
Mercure Hotel Hannover Mitte
#16 of 159 in Hannover
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Grand Hotel Mussmann
Grand Hotel Mussmann
#14 of 159 in Hannover
194 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#29 of 159 in Hannover
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Wiegand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Wiegand

Address: Lange Laube 20, 30159, Hannover, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Hannover > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Hannover
Price Range: $103 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel Wiegand 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH and Booking.com so you can book your Design Hotel Wiegand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing