We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Domspitzen
Nearby Hotels
NH Koln Altstadt(Cologne)
US$91
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$170
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Koeln(Cologne)
US$91
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$96
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
151
166
49
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
166
49
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationeggs prepared to ordertop floorexcellent breakfaststaff are extremely helpfullovely little hotelcold buffetroom was small but cleana couple of minutes walka short walking distancesuperior roombreslauer platzthe hotel is conveniently locatedno tea coffee making facilitiesfree wifiwalked everywheresmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

During a heat wave the second story room was not comfortable. The receptionist was kind enough to provide a fan which was not adequate. During normal weather it would have been undoubtedly better.
We actually had two small rooms for three persons, which worked well. A small bathroom.
Breakfast was quite a wonderful surprise with lots of small plates and choices of delicacies. Unexpected and impressive.
Helpful staff.
Just a couple of blocks from the cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed here 2 nights in September 2017; I wish we could have stayed longer.
The hotel is a 7 minute walk from the train and an 8 minute walk from the Cathedral.
Our room was small but clean & functional. The bathroom was a great size and quite clean.
Every member of the staff we dealt with were outstanding; the check in process was easy and enjoyable.
There is a bowl of chocolate candies available in the lobby; I tasted quite a few.
The first afternoon we were there, they delivered 2 pieces of cake to our room; a very nice welcome to Cologne.
Our room had a balcony which we like, it helps us dry our laundry but it rained every day we were in Cologne so we didn't get to use it.
Breakfast is outstanding, a small buffet and a made to order omelette or eggs.

Make sure to buy some men's cologne when visiting Cologne. I did, it smells very nice and wasn't too expensive. Also, we took the English tour of the cathedral; I don't like tours but this one was excellent.

Would I stay here again? Of course.
Would I recommend it to friends? Yes

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDomspitzen, Manager at Hotel Domspitzen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear "skierCalgary",

thank you very much for your kind review. The best words are your last words: "Would I stay here again? Of course. Would I recommend it to friends? Yes" Many thanks!

Best regards,
your DOMSPITZEN-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This is a small hotel on a narrow street at the Breslauer Platz end of the main railroad station (Hauptbahnhof). The reception area is modest and the staff wears normal clothing, not uniforms as in luxurious hotels. Nearly everyone except the cleaner is female. We had a top floor room, very clean, furnished with what must have been items from a second-hand shop but refinished and looking quite sweet. The room was large enough, not quite what we would call a superior room (which is what we booked). . We had to ask for luggage racks and paper handkerchiefs but they were supplied. There is a small terrace on one of the floors, with flowers, bamboo plants, and other bushes, with a few chairs, a table, and a canopy. Breakfast was good, but if you want decaffeinated coffee, you need to address the woman from the Philippine Islands, not her colleague. Altogther, I'd describe the hotel as sweet and adequate..

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I came with my partner and our 11 month old son. The hotel was good, the staff were friendly. Breakfast was brilliant, cooked fresh eggs, I didn't have them but my partner did and he really enjoyed them. There was a good choice of other food. The terrace was good with a fridge with a few drinks for us to treat like a bar. The rooms were big. The only faults and the only reason it wasn't 5 out of 5 was there is no tea/coffee making facilities. There isn't an iron. And only a noisy shower, which wouldn't of been a problem apart from travelling with a small child. He found the shower too scary so rather then upsetting him we didn't bath him. But apart from the 3 little things it cannot be faulted. A lovely little hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank annh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights visiting Cologne. Within a five minute walk of both cathedral and the Rhine, as well as restaurants and bars. Railway station at the end of the road. Limited free parking at hotel although local carpark available at additional charge a few hundred yards away. (€15 per 24hrs in car parks). Adequate rooms with en suite and tea/coffee making facilities. Good choice of cooked eggs and ample choice of Cold buffet food for breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. Recommend to anyone visiting not wishing to be too far from the centre.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank welltravelledus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews