We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenz Am Dom Serviced Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$94
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Cologne(Cologne)
US$152
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$92
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$77
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$73
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cologne(Cologne)
US$133
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$168
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
52
49
10
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
49
10
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentsretirement homemain stationlaundry roomsmall kitchenetteapartment was cleantrain stationthe location is perfectspoke good englishrooms are bigchristmas marketcologne cathedralthree nightsvisiting colognegbinternetdom
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay here and was very impressed.
The location is great for the shops, Christmas markets, train station etc.
We stayed in a one bed apt and it was spotless had everything you needed.. Towels were changed daily and bins emptied. There was plenty of room for two of us however if I had one thing that I missed was TV only English Channel was bbc world and I would have liked a little more choice.
Any of the staff we dealt with were very professional and were kind enough to allow us to have late check out on Sunday so a massive thumbs up for that.
Yes these are residential apt but to be honest anyone we encountered were friendly.
All in all we had a great time and if we return to koln in the future this will be our first choice..

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Allie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

We stayed here December 2015 whilst visiting the Christmas markets. We travelled by Eurostar to Brussels and then changed train to get to Cologne. The property is very conveniently located for the station being no more than a 4 or 5 minute walk away. It's even closer to the Cathederal. The property is very very clean and well presented, the staff were great and they all spoke excellent English. There is a cafeteria ( I wouldn't describe it as a restaurant), a swimming pool, gym and even a physiotherapist on site, not sure it's for visitors though. The accommodation is certainly adequate. There is a bedroom, bathroom, lounge and fully equipped kitchen area. There is a 300 channel TV with one British channel and free Wi-Fi although it's not very good. There is tea and coffee in your room upon arrival but once you have drunk it you have to buy anymore at the reception, that I found very disappointing. It's certainly well positioned for touring Cologne and surrounding area but the one thing I couldn't get my head around is quite simply this, it's an old peoples home. No matter how you dress it up, however great it is, it's an old peoples home. This is reflected in the furniture, stiff upright chairs and sofas, no baths just showers but if that sort of thing doesn't bother you then this really is a great place to stay. For those who use a wheelchair, this is a very wheelchair friendly property. There are no luxuries, if you want those then you need to go to a hotel, but if you are the sort who wants functional and clean you will be very hard pushed to find better.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoulsdonGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

This is a very good place to stay, roomy one-bedroom apartments, beautifully warm (we were there in December) with helpful front desk staff.
As others have said, the lifts take a long time to come to you at busy times. We once timed the wait as 3 minutes which seems a long time. Fortunately there are comfy armchairs on each floor (except ground) which we sat on whilst waiting. Once you're in the lift, they seem normal speed.
The location is very good - just 5 minutes from the main station (Hauptbahnhof) and 10 from the amazing Cathedral/Dom. It is also close to the main Cologne shopping streets (10-15 mins) and museums/art galleries, and Christmas Markets.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Fabulous accommodation, pristine clean and comfortable large rooms, adequate kitchen facilities and large balcony. Victor and Alex (Reception) with whom we had the most dealings were cheerful, extremely helpful and courteous. We were with two friends and the accommodation caters for only two people, we asked for extra cutlery and crockery and an extra chair mainly because we all wanted to eat breakfast together. This was no problem and was provided instantly by Alex. Excellent wifi. There were only two English news channels but then we didn't go to Cologne to watch TV. Victor agreed to us extending checkout time by five hours, willingly weighed our cases and ordered us a taxi. We really enjoyed out stay here, absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend this property. It is in the centre of Cologne with easy access to all seven Christmas markets and great shopping area. There is a small off licence just around the corner (the helpful lady speaks fluent English) which sells good wine and Prosecco at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with a view of the spires of Cologne Cathedral.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine1188932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

During the interval November 27th-30th 2015 we had a short trip to the nice city of Cologne-Germany.
The hotel Residenz am Dom has several pros and only a few cons :)
So, it has a great location, you can walk about 300 meters to the dom of Cologne the milestone of this great city and also of the whole Germany and Europe. But even like that you would be surprised to hear that even Germans-Cologne inhabitants do not know why is that cathedral so well known and they answered to me that inside one can find the remaining of St.Nikolaus - wrong! Everyone should know that this cathedral has a superb golden cassette containing the remaining of the three kings who brought presents at the birth of Jesus Christ. But this is something collateral with this short review about the hotel.
So, first good point - the location.
Second good point - the flat itself. The hotel has 4 stars. We booked a flat for two persons containing two rooms with all the comfort including TV sets in both rooms, parquet, balcony and a small kitchenette and of course bathroom.
Still, you probably remember from my previous reviews - a 4 stars hotel needs to have a minibar. Such an article misses from the room/flat.
- The third point is that the reception personnel is very kind and helpful.
I also have one special mention here. My wife birthday was on November 30th. We found in the room a cassette with some cookies and two small bottles of champagne and a nice greeting card where they wrote nice words with that occasion - they extracted the dates in the passport and then organized this. So, something that needs to be applauded.
Now, let's mention the "not so good" points:
- In the hotel, there are certain rooms, flats or penthouses (yes, penthouses!!!) rented old people, disabled or not. I am saying also disabled because you will notice several are in wheel chairs with their nurses taking care of them.
As a result of this sometimes one could wait for too long to the elevators;
- Secondly, the breakfast is limited in offer. You eat in the same rooms with the old tenants. They are great persons, some of them are simple rich people who preferred a safety place for their age not to disturb the young ones in their families. Still, I would have preferred a bit of separation between the hotel part and the rest of hotel rented for old people.
- And third - the wifi works for a single device for a room.
A few other good points - the hotel has also an interior pool and a small gym hall, the main railway station is located on the cathedral's right side, so only about 300 meters distance from hotel. A taxi from airport is about 30-35 euro. The reception people would order a taxi to pick you from hotel back to the airport also for 35 euro. If you don't want to take breakfast in the hotel, there are plenty of small and large restaurants a few hundred meters away from this hotel. Right now(second half of November-December) a small train offering a trip to the 4 Christmas market is just in front of the Dom and also a double-decker bus to offer you a Cologne sightseeing in the same place. We caught Friday the 27th of November which was the Black Friday in Germany, Cologne was very crowded, but nice people and the whole atmosphere was great.
So, all in all a nice experience. You should try this hotel for its pros. They are more important thnt the cons mentioned by me.

Room Tip: You should order a room with view to the interior yard (towards the Dom direction).
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoustacheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews