We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel if you can sleep in the lobby”
Review of Gildors Hotel

Gildors Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gildors Hotel
Ranked #139 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The hotel has a really nice lobby and breakfast area which is evident when you enter the building. However, once you go to your room, the charm vanishes.

The rooms are very rundown, and there are no amenities to speak of. When we were there, there was a heat wave, and the room offered nothing in terms of cooling (no fans or air conditioning, and a window that sort of opened).

If you take a shower, you may delight in the fact that water collects around your ankles. Eventually, the shower drains, but there is nothing relaxing about taking a shower here..I was starting to think that staying dirty was the 'new clean'

The beds are poor quality and there is one limp pillow that looks as wilted as I felt being in the hot room

Evidently, there is a new Manager who may care more about saving money than keeping guests comfortable.

The breakfast is pleasant and the people who work in the hotel are quite friendly.

The hotel is centrally located, which is a redeeming factor

Would not stay here again and am sorry that I booked three nights, which were prepaid. Had we not prepaid, we would have left after the first night

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ollliethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

very friendly hotel,

highly recommended for quick business trip.
The staff is very polite and helpful!

they were happy to assist me with everything I asked for 24/7. Good English and very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

2 starts for the advantages of 24 hours front desk, and the warm feeling of the hotel interior.
However, got a room that my bed is right behind the elevator, every time when elevator moved it is really noisy! When somebody came back at midnight or leave early, simply disturbing, and it's to the level that's affecting sleeping seriously.
Further, internet was not always working, weak signals. The shower set lotion was used by last guest and was not changed.
Overall, I like the room itself and will want to stay there again, but not.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank K440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Stayed here for three nights with my wife. Very pleasant staff with nothing being too much trouble. The hotel is very clean and the food at breakfast was of good quality. Its location is great for access to Dusseldorf centre. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and the bus to the airport is very close too. My only negatives, and they are nothing really in comparison, is that the room was very warm to sleep in, even with the radiators turned off and the window open. Also, there was no English speaking chanel on the tv, not even BBC, CNN or SKY news which would have been nice.

Room Tip: Even the main road outside is quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlanLunn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

Just three words: seriously overpriced hotel.

Basic room and no internet or breakfast included in the price. Had to pay 4 euros each night for the internet and the outrageous thing is that the wifi signal was very weak in the room so you could not really use it. Hotel staff was not the friendliest as well.

On the positive side the room was clean and the hotel was conveniently located between the city centre and the Congress Centre.

Overall, I wouldn't return or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ellethwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
#187 of 239 in Dusseldorf
38 reviews
Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
#52 of 239 in Dusseldorf
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#11 of 239 in Dusseldorf
974 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gildors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gildors Hotel

Address: Collenbachstrasse 51, 40476 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $97 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gildors Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gildors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing