We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Was there for two dinners on a tour in the restaurant. One evening was a great experience, the other was not, The second was on a saturday eve and after sitting down we wait approx one and another half hour for our meals - bad luck!
The meals are great (schnitzel), but if you order the burger you shall read the description very thoroughful. Everything is described, but may not meet your experience. So, the burger is served ina panini, from my point of view it is to hard for a burger. And the patty is more like frikadellee. Honestly, the quality was good.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank ksg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I usually go here at least once a week and I have done it for 20 years now - I would say I'm a regular. I can't really remember a single visit when I was not happy with the food. And whenever there was a problem they solved it brilliantly. If you are looking for German food then go here!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nils D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night to visit Essen motor show with some friends.

We arrived very late at night so everything was locked up & we were unsure of how to get in but we managed to find some staff in the kitchen who gave us access & found the manager to check us in.

Our rooms were very big with comfortable beds & very nice bathrooms.
There was a minibar in the room & free wifi.

The breakfast buffet was very nice.

We did not spend much time in the hotel or local area but we're happy with our stay.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JayAndZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I had my fourth stay here this summer, and as always I feel welcome and taken care of in a familiar way. Rooms are spacious and very clean, food and drink + breakfast is great as always.
If you are traveling in this are, stay here :)

Room Tip: Spacious and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OyvindBlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel Sengelmannshof is situated in a very green area in the suburb Kettwig 10 KM away from Essen City.
Sengelmannshof has a good restaurant, especially sitting outside in summer time.
But the hotel rooms are really not more as moderate. The sleeping area is really old fashioned, only the bathroom is modern with a good size.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof

Address: Sengelmannsweg 35, 45219 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Kettwig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: $160 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Sengelmannshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing