We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Souless - Average at Best”
Review of Im Girardet Haus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Essen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Im Girardet Haus
Ranked #56 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here about 6 years ago and remember then not being overly impressed. As I travel to Essen a lot, I thought I'd give it another try. Nothing had changed.

If you just need a place to put your head down, maybe do a bit of work, and freshen up, then it is fine (I wouldn't stay more than two nights though). However, you can do the exact same in many other hotels close by for a lower price. The only real plus, is the breakfast. The choice is quite good and the view is great :-)

The only staff interaction was the guy checking us in and the lady checking us out. Both were very friendly and efficient.

I have two main negative issues with the hotel:

1 - You need to be fit. Our room was about 3/4 way along the corridor. From reception to the room is probably the best part of half a kilometre or more! I would hate to think how far it is to the rooms as the very end.

2 - It has no soul! This may sound ridiculous, and is not something I've ever felt the need to write before. But it is how this place feels. There is no sense of warmth, welcoming or personality to it. Rather it is just functional and cold.

Will I stay here again? Probably at some stage because there is nothing wrong with the hotel as such, but I won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you have to be in the area for biz as I had, you would book it, otherwise it is nothing special. They have a nice spot for breakfast where you can overlook the city. Also the choice for breakfast is very good. The rooms are quite big, but the wi-fi reception was not very good if you were not in the main hallway. Also the choice of the TV stations is so-so, with maybe just a few English spoken station. It is conveniently close to the metro /tram/bus station. Also very close to the roundabout road. Also the key is something you would consider to leave at the reception as its very heavy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grantica79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Everything fine and nothing more, rooms are clean, beds comfortable, quiet hotel.
Personnel shows chilly friendlyness.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank balvaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Touragent1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Best Western Hotel Ypsilon
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#16 of 69 in Essen
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Im Girardet Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Im Girardet Haus

Address: Girardetstrasse 2 38, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Rüttenscheid
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 69 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: $156 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Im Girardet Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 42

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing