We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostile, unhelpful Staff. Intimidating atmosphere”
Review of Elmhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmhurst Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Booked this Hotel because it was advertised as Pet friendly. Arrived with a friend and one dog. They refused to let us stay despite the booking having been accepted and the room prepaid. My friend was physically ejected with the dog, after much discussion they agreed to let me contact the booking company who were trying to find us an alternative so put me on hold. The staff then got very hostile, conversed in a foreign tongue while make it obvious it was about me and while standing within 2 feet of me. They made it plain if I didn't leave PDQ things would get really nasty.
They were unconcerned that two elderly ladies would be without accommodation in a strange place and totally unhelpful about finding an alternative.
We eventually did find an alternative as although fully booked themselves the staff at a Holiday Inn helped us find somewhere. DO NOT BOOK THE ELMHURST

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I was on my own looking for last minute deal after invite to Ascot. Very cheap deal and near direct station to racecourse. Hotel was good and basic but what I expected for price. Great parking and nice pub for meal 3 Tuns. Room ok and clean enough. Staff friendly and small bar open till midnight
Good value for money and it did have wifi.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Buster147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the elmhurst because my usual hotels where full and I was pleasantly surprised it was clean and the shower was good the food was good and staff friendly it is well priced too plenty of parking

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Rayjden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Clean bed and comfy. Didnt see any guests. Breakfast was dissapointing, only 3 things on offer in combinations, no offer of cereal, hurried out at 9, even though id arrived on time, couldnt finish my tea! Im not fussy but this was below even my standards!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

2nd visit to this hotel. Once again, a lovely and friendly welcome from this family run hotel. I found the facilities clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was lovely too. We requested extra pillows for our room and these were provided in just a few minutes. This hotel would not suit the Uber critical, but for the average person, this price in this location it's spot on. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earley
4.5 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
219 reviews
2.9 km away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
2.2 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
633 reviews
2.7 km away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhurst Hotel

Address: 51 Church Road, Earley, Wokingham RG6 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Earley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elmhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhurst Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing