We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once was enough”
Review of Elmhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmhurst Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Shocking, The first thing I did was check that there was a fire escape. The decor was tatty and the electrics, well the smoke alarm was hanging off the ceiling inside a plastic bag. The light over the bed had a black plastic bag stuffed into the end of it covering up loose wires. I made the mistake of risking taking a shower but unfortunately having got the water to an ambient temperature somewhere a toilet was flushed and I was scalded as the water temperature increased dramatically,I thought hotels were inspected for safety this one should definitely not pass. On a positive note the sheets were lovely, crisp white cotton just a shame the carpet wasn't as clean. It was a "Fawlty Towers" hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Although a budget hotel the Elmhurst compares very unfavourably with other similar hotels I have used.
There is a shabby ,unloved atmosphere about the place, with the plumbing and electrics in need of a complete refit.
Breakfast was adequate but the fried egg came with a pool of greasy oil which was inedible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINGO92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

This hotel is good for value. The room was clean, included an en suite.
The wifi was strong. Breakfast was fine. Location good too.
The street was a little loud due to roadworks, but besides that it was a perfectly adequate stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I would avoid this place like the plague... absolutely awful. Noisy, filthy, no air-con, terrible breakfast, charged double, do not reply on email or phone. I left after one night to go the the Holiday Inn - was like entering a different universe. I sometimes wonder if people who run these places have ever actually sayed in a hotel.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank nicknewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Booked this Hotel because it was advertised as Pet friendly. Arrived with a friend and one dog. They refused to let us stay despite the booking having been accepted and the room prepaid. My friend was physically ejected with the dog, after much discussion they agreed to let me contact the booking company who were trying to find us an alternative so put me on hold. The staff then got very hostile, conversed in a foreign tongue while make it obvious it was about me and while standing within 2 feet of me. They made it plain if I didn't leave PDQ things would get really nasty.
They were unconcerned that two elderly ladies would be without accommodation in a strange place and totally unhelpful about finding an alternative.
We eventually did find an alternative as although fully booked themselves the staff at a Holiday Inn helped us find somewhere. DO NOT BOOK THE ELMHURST

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Earley
2.7 km away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
4.5 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
218 reviews
2.9 km away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
9.9 km away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2.2 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhurst Hotel

Address: 51 Church Road, Earley, Wokingham RG6 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Earley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Earley
Price Range: $82 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elmhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhurst Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing