We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and few options ”
Review of Cafe Bubu

Cafe Bubu
Ranked #447 of 883 Restaurants in Leipzig
Price range: US$1 - US$9
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

The place is beautiful to look at, that’s it.
During the weekend there is only one, absolutely overpriced (16€!) vegan brunch.
The scrambled eggs (vegan) were cold, the jars of jam and yogurt almost empty (maybe 3 teaspoons).
The service is slow and it’s a self-serve restaurant.
Absolutely do not recommend!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank snaccident
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2020

I went to Cafe Bubu because it's one of few places in east of Leipzig, where gives vegan breakfast. I found only one plate for vegans which was ridiculous. When I order, I've waited for 50 minutes to receive the most uncreative vegan dish I've ever had. Low quality, not tasty components, which made me think "they've just tried to pretend they have something for vegans, which in reality it seems they have no idea and no intention to care about people with vegan diet". Nothing was freshly cooked or put any effort into, so I have no idea why a that vegan plate should made 50 minutes to be prepared and why should costed more than 7 euros! It even didn't give me any satisfaction feeling and felt hungry after.
I was intended to try cakes after my breakfast, but after having it, I haven't even dared to try the cakes, for two reason; price and appearance. I've had very nice vegan cakes in other cafe's which looked more professional and tastier for similar price.
Moreover, I didn't understand why they don't use barista version vegan milk for the coffee ( like Oatly or Alpiro) which costs almost double the price of bio cow milk, and instead use the cheapest version of vegan milk (that cost less than a euro) yet charged 0,40 euros more for that! How can be called to charge a person for the whole package of milk?!

I would describe my experience as shocking! I have no idea why this cafe has gotten so many 5 start reviews everywhere? Have people lost their taste buds or no idea on how something should be prices and taste?!

* I shared the plate with my vegetarian friend. This is the plate for 2!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 694sham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bubu also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bubu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.