We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
1,324
341
81
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,324
341
81
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman baths glass floor old palace converted palace roman remains beautiful hotel deluxe room orange trees outdoor pool five star hotel minute walk an oasis historic building hotel restaurant stayed longer modern design tucked away
Filter
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Well, the Hospes Palacio del Bailio is rated highly and this rating is very well deserved. The property is really amazing and historic. It has everything you would want in Cordoba, amazing courtyards, a great restaurant, tapas bar, spa with a Roman bath, fantastic rooms, attentive service, and a great location in the historic district. There are even real Roman ruins located under a glass floor in the main dining room> It is only about a 10 minute walk to the Mezquita, and is tucked away in a quiet little neighborhood. The property is a huge mansion built in the early 18th century. The food in the tapas bar and restaurant is impressive, and the hotel staff were very attentive and helpful in every way. The hotel management was on site at all times and was attentive to our individual needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with certainty that their experience would be as wonderful as ours. At night, the entire hotel was filled with the scent of burning candles and the courtyards were romantically lit and serene. If you want a perfect home base while in Cordoba you need not look any further!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We spent two nights at this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. Cordoba itself is an absolute delight as a city, small enough to get around easily in just two days. Most sights are in easy walking distance from this hotel. The hotel was a nightmare to find ( we drove around for at least 20 mins before we found it in spite of the signs everywhere). However once we arrived we were not to be disappointed. The hotel decor style is understated and modern but warm and inviting. The reception staff were really welcoming and helpful. They took away our car and parked it for us (€19 per day) and more importantly it arrived back in one piece! No mean feat when you see how narrow the streets are in Cordoba!
We booked the Loft suite which took up the entire top floor. The room was very comfortable and very light and airy. There was not much wardrobe space but it was sufficient for our 2 night stay. The room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was fabulous with loads of space.
We did not use the spa as we really didn't have time.
The patio de los naranjos was absolutely beautiful to sit in for lunch or by the pool and was an excellent sanctuary from the summer heat.
We also ate in the Senzone Restaurant on the first night and enjoyed the high quality spanish cuisine with both good service and recommended wines- although the wine list was somewhat limited.
The choice of foods at the breakfast buffet is incredible but not cheap.
All in all we really couldn't fault the place and would not only recommend the hotel but we are looking forward to staying at another Hospes Hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishmaninSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed for one night during our round trip through Andalucía and chose mainly slh- and lhw-Hotels: This one was my favorite. The courtyard is wonderfully cool, beautiful pool (even though the curtained hammocks were forever occupied), nice lighting at night. Córdoba is really steaming in September, but this hotel makes you forget about it. The Mezquita is within easy walking (or crawling) distance, therefore the rest of the sights is, as well. The only disadvantage is the parking situation, but the valet is a service you simply have to include to truly enjoy staying in the centre of town...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lentejuelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this really amazing place. The interior decor is perfect, trendy and modern, but not "too much" and blends in really well with the historical buildings. There is a small swimming pool in the garden-courtyard where it's nice to stick around when hot outside or for a drink. Rooms have everything you would expect from this category hotel. Staff is friendly, but there recommendations for places to eat (outside the hotel) were all very bad/poor/tourist traps. The restaurant inside the hotel, although expensive for local standard is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonylec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We traveled to a number of cities and hotels while in Spain, and the Hospes Bailio was the prettiest. Combining the traditional (and beautiful) building with a very modern design, it was just a stunner for the eyes. The staff was very helpful. The pool and spa facilities were excellent (and part of the room rate). We were there on an typically sweltering day in early August (108F!), but the staff made it work for us,a dn the pool helped. It would be nice if the television transmitte shows in English as well as Spanish (as several hotels in Spain now do), but this was a minor thing. Overall, one of the best places we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews