We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at the Zoo”
Review of Selwo Aventura

Selwo Aventura
Ranked #6 of 26 Tours in Estepona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Selwo Aventura, in Estepona, offers you a chance to enjoy wild nature on a great expedition through different lands which take you to Africa to get to know its most emblematic fauna such as the lion, giraffe, hippopotamus, zebra, leopard, meerkat… Then, on to other continents like Europe and Asia to discover unique species such as the Iberian lynx, Indian elephant and red panda. The Park has adventure activities such as a zipwire, hanging bridges and archery and complete interaction programmes like the exclusive Obama VIP Visit, which owes its name to the trip made by the family of the American president on their visit to Selwo Aventura in 2010, and the Serengeti Safari, a trip in a 4x4 truck around the Great Lakes Reserve, which lets you get right up close to representative creatures of the fauna of Africa. If you would like to stay longer, we can offer the Selwo Lodge Hotel, Nature Classrooms and Children’s Camps.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a surprise!! Most zoos around the world I have been in are fairly compact but Selwo (just to the east of Estepona) is spread out in the adjacent hills. There's lots of room for the animals to wander and lots to see. There are good refreshment stops dotted around with convenient loos. You will need a full day with good trainers or walking shoes as it can be hot and certainly a fair distance. You can also pay extra to be taken on a tour in an open lorry with seats, this is probably better for the elders or infirm etc. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selwo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Selwo Aventura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much Selwo Aventura. We are glad to know that you enjoyed its proposals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zip line"
in 25 reviews
"safari park"
in 21 reviews
"fast food"
in 12 reviews
"rope bridge"
in 11 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 8 reviews
"animals seem"
in 8 reviews
"bigger animals"
in 7 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 5 reviews
"bird enclosure"
in 5 reviews
"great family day"
in 9 reviews
"walk around"
in 10 reviews
"the costa del sol"
in 7 reviews
"enclosures"
in 48 reviews
"zoo"
in 103 reviews
"hippos"
in 46 reviews
"camel"
in 27 reviews
"archery"
in 21 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were with our child 5 yo. She didn't find it entertaining at all. Long walks up and down, animals far away... biopark is way better. Selwo marina was really great, but this one... 70 euro, not worth it, 3 euro for parking is extortionate! 15 euro for a safari trip on top of it... will never go again.

1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selwo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Selwo Aventura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your visit to Selwo Aventura and we regret that this does not fulfill your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic day out here. The grounds are beautiful, the animals appear happy and well looked after, there is so much to see and do. I was surprised how close you could get to the animals like the wallabies, birds and the lemurs walking above you. I had wild birds eat from my hands and even saw a wild snake which was amazing.

The safari part was brilliant, I don’t think it would be worth paying for the Jeep tour- it got you slightly closer but not much. I loved the bat enclosure, the lions, the huge snakes.... and everything really.

The park was very clean, beautiful views and peaceful. We had lunch overlooking the lagoon, the food was really tasty and generous portions. We ate a burger and chips, the meals were about €13 each but this seems to be about average for adventure parks in Spain. We had a brilliant time and would definitely return.

Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selwo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Selwo Aventura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for visiting Selwo Aventura, we are glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic day at the park. We inform you that you can access the interior of certain habitats, such as the wallabies or the Cañón de las Aves, but you are not allowed to touch or feed the animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took a planned trip from our hotel to Selwo and opted to include the safari. The zoo is excellent with plenty of animals and beautiful views. I would highly recommend including the safari also. We ate lunch here and the lunch deals were great value for money and very nice.

Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selwo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Selwo Aventura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for visiting and recommending Selwo Aventura. We are glad to know that you enjoyed a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Children loved it, plenty of walking, so not suitable for some people. We also went on the open top truck tour, guide was knowledgeable & friendly. A bit expensive, but isn't everything when on holiday.

1  Thank LYNNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selwo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Selwo Aventura, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for visiting Selwo Aventura. We are glad to know that you enjoyed a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selwo Aventura also viewed

Estepona, Costa del Sol
Estepona, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Selwo Aventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing