We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Guadalmar by Melia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Costa Hotel(Torremolinos)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
377
639
285
127
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
639
285
127
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsthe buspremium roombuffet restaurantresidential areamalaga airportoutdoor poolplaza mayorplenty of sunbedssea viewbeach hotelbeach barnear airportbreakfast and dinnerhalf boardreception staffminutes from the airport
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for overnight rest after the evening flight into Spain from London. This is a lovely hotel. Very spacious, right on the beach and very close Malaga airport. The hotel staff were excellent. The buffet breakfast had a good selection. Nothing great but very good spread. We strolled on the sea front in the morning. We wanted to go to Seville via Ronda and got a Taxi in the hotel premises. It was really good as the train connections on this route are not good.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank IPSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Sol Guadalmar by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear client,

Thank you, thank you so much for sending your great opinion about our Hotel.

I will transmit your comments to all the staff and we hope you can visit us and enjoy the views again!

Regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Booked room only but took up the offer of breakfast which was well worth it. Some people were all-inclusive so they missed out on visiting the 2 excellent fish restaurants on the promenade nearby. The outdoor pool was lovely but you must wear a hat when using the indoor pool. Also you must pay extra to use the (small) gym. The bus into Malaga is cheap but not very punctual and takes nearly half an hour. Airport is very close but taxi cost us 20euros! We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There are some young people who run a kids club and organise games etc.
All in all we enjoyed our visit to this hotel and had a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had a premium room on the eighth floor - which was excellent
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMPScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Sol Guadalmar by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writting your opinion. We are happy to know that your stay in our Hotel was pleasant.

I hope you come back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,


Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

The hotel could have delivered all promises, from a great location at the beach, comfortable rooms and exciting cuisine, however, waiters and their irritating services ruined our stay twice a day. We were constantly reminded of their hectic presence, buzzing around, far away from ambient professionals, while their service considered only cleaning the tables and arranging clean cutlery. Regularly my plate was removed while I was still chewing last bits; we were re-seated in the pretty empty restaurant hall because that place was not suited for us for unknown reasons. The waiters spoke just a limited English, so when I ordered a glass of wine, I received a bottle of wine and another bottle of water. As the drinks were not complementary during dinners, such misunderstandings were convenient for the hotel only. Similar tiny bits ruined our otherwise pleasant experience twice a day. As a hotel guest, I expect friendly and calm services just in time and when needed.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Sol Guadalmar by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear traveller,

I appreciate your consideration in sending us your personal comments and we understand your disagree about our Restaurant.

I will study this issue with our Maitre and his staff to achieve the better level service as mentioned.

Thank you for writting!

Regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

stayed here on our way to our holiday destination the hotel is situated next to the airport its very clean the rooms are spacious and the bed are very comftable we would stay again here on our way back to home staff are very friendly altghouh the English is not that great ,very good coffee in the bar

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Sol Guadalmar by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for sharing your opinion in TrypAdvisor. We are really happy to know that your stay with us were pleasant.

I hope when you return back from your holidays you can taste another coffee in our Bar and enjoy the hotel again.

See you soon!

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Stayed her with my wife for two nights before moving on to our holiday destination. Hotel is situated very near to Malaga Airport.. The front of the hotel and reception is quite modern but although the bedrooms were a bit dated we found the room to be very comfortable. Only problem we had with the room is you do not have Tea/Coffee facility in the room which we found very strange in this day and age as we thought all hotels had this facility. We found the reception Staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and Dinner are buffet style but we found there was always something on offer to suit out taste. Most of the staff in the bar and dinning room were friendly and helpful but some have a problem with speaking English.Very nice pool area and seems to be plenty of beds. Hotel is right at the beach. There is nothing in the way of restaurants ect in the area round about the hotel. Best thing you can do is get one of the taxis that are always outside the hotel and go to Malaga City its self our there is a shopping complex just a short taxi ride from the hotel. All in all yes I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a nice room which overlooked the excellent pool area and also had a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daviePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier T, Gerente at Sol Guadalmar by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Davie,

We are really pleased to know that you were confortable during your stay with us.

I wish we can host you again and enjoy special moments in Tryp Guadalmar and in Malaga city very soon.

Regards,

Javier Tenza
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews