We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Larios(Malaga)
US$146
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad(Malaga)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Feel Hostels Soho Malaga(Malaga)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$158
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
172
145
33
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
145
33
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree brothersgeneration familyyogurthotel is beautifully decoratedminute walkbus stop right outside the hotelsea viewhotel runnice rooftop terracebeach and city centrepaseo del parqueeuro breakfaststay there againnew marinasmall fridgethe busmalagueta beach
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

I needed somewhere to stay at short notice for 3 nights.
This hotel could not be more helpful and friendly. I was travelling alone so wanted somewhere clean, quiet and safe. This place ticked all of the boxes.
It was immaculate, so clean and had everything you would need for a short stay in Malaga. Reception were really accommodating in helping to call taxis, get to the airport and find local places to eat when I didn't know the area at all.

Room Tip: There is a lift apart from the very top floor where you have to go up an easy flight if stairs for the final ascent.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We were very pleased with our stay here. Friendly staff and a good breakfast served at the table. A reasonable price for a nice hotel. Very close to the port area and about 20 minute walk to the city. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 202 has a fabulous terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travellingtourist61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We have visited Malaga several times before and this time we chose to stay at the California and we were not disappointed.
Service was excellent from check in, breakfast, rooms being cleaned and checkout
Breakfast was very nice, individually served each morning with fresh coffee & juice, soft boiled egg, bread,meat & cheeses, yoghurt, cereal - simple but lovely.
Bedroom we had was at rear of hotel on 3rd floor and again was simple but adequate. Cleaned daily and a reasonable size.
Rooftop Terrace was a real bonus as we sat up their a few hours a day catching some warm winter sunshine whilst reading a book.
WiFi worked well in all areas
Location is about a 20 minute walk into Town with a bus stop right outside the hotel
Will definitely stay again when next in Malaga

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

we stayed four nights in hotel California and were very pleased with everything, excellent breakfast, very nice and comfortable room and the staff were so nice and very helpful. we would definitely stay there again. just a few minutes walk to the beach and the lovely harbour with lots of restaurants, about 15mins walk to the old part of the city and main shopping area and the lovely walk along the prom. a very enjoyable visit to Malaga so a big thank you to the staff at hotel California.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back seem to be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Staff were really friendly, they gave us great advices about Malaga and were always in for a chat. Nice rooftop terrace with a great view over the Mediterranean sea. Breakfast was really nice as well!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews