We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed for 3 nights as a group of 7 to celebrate a friend's special birthday. The hotel is ideally situated for the Old Town, which is very pretty, and also for the beach and promenade with its many restaurants. Our room which had not yet been renovated was at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the main road and park. It was very clean with a huge, comfy bed and good air con. The bathroom was modern but had a shower curtain in the bath which I didn't like. The other rooms my friends stayed in didn't have balconies and were a bit smaller. I didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as friends tried it on the first morning and said it wasn't very good so we ate out for breakfast. There is no pool but this wasn't a problem as the beach is so close.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to keep 2 rooms until 6 pm on our last day at a cost of 30 euros per room.

I thought the hotel was good value for money and will be even better once all the rooms are renovated. Weather was great which was definitely a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kimcglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristobalParra, Director Comercial at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time and post about your stay! Do not forget to contact us directly if you come back to Marbella to get the best rate.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is not luxury. It is situated in the center of the city. About 5 min. walk from the beach. Across the street there is a nice green park, it is not too big but you can still enjoy the plants and the trees. The hotel has a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. 24 h reception. If you stay in the hotel 1-2 nights it is ok. They have no comunication between reception, where you make your check out, and the cleaning service. In yhe morning about 9am the cleaning lady decided to nock at the door, receiving no answer she decided to open it. So be sure you put the sign "don't disturb" if you want to sleep more in the morning. Staff is very friendly. But I recomend this hotel only for short stay.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ibotnari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristobalParra, Director Comercial at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,
We appreciate you took your time to make a review about your stay.
I apologize about the cleaning service kocking at the door to early, it is not a lack of comunication just a mistake. We will tell this to the cleaning department to find a solution and hope it will not happen again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is a short walk to the beach and the old town so a great location.
Our room looked straight into a wall which meant it was quite dark.
The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The bathroom was cramped and the step up shower tray was stained inside and very claustrophobic with the shower curtain pulled round. The toilet bowl was also stained.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice.
Beware of parking costs - €125 for 4 days and getting up the steep slope on to the narrow street at the exit is horrendous.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheilafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristobalParra, Director Comercial at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
We appreciate you took your time to post about your stay. We are renovating rooms and bathrooms so in 2 years the whole Hotel will be refurbished. I would like to clarify the parking issue. Our parking costs 11€ in high season and 8€ in low season. I think you parked in La Victoria which is another parking nearby and very expensive.
Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The bedrooms in this hotel are mostly dark and dingy, and the beds are very hard. In our experience, the reception staff were not helpful and were unfriendly. On the plus side, the location is great and the breakfasts are good. So if you don't mind what the room is like, it's a good location, but if you want a nice room to stay in, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I definitely won't be staying there again, when I go back to Marbella.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 50lovelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristobalParra, Director Comercial at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room. If you do not specify in which room you stayed we cannot see what it is wrong with the beds. We are reforming the Hotel and getting very modern and nice rooms. You can have a look on our website. We will keep reforming rooms the next 2 years. Sorry one more time and regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

When I first arrived I almost didn't stay. The room - 312 - was shabby with a shower room (not a bathroom as advertised) and single beds instead of the double I ordered. The shower was awful and flooded the bedroom, the balcony was tiny with plastic furniture facing a wall, no tea or coffee making facilities. It was possibly the worst room I have been given in twenty years!

I went down to reception and explained that the room was totally unsuitable and not at all as advertised. Pepe on reception agreed and suggested I pay an extra €15 a day for a premium room, on the 5th or 6th floor. I didn't remember that being an option on Booking.com but sure, why not. Wow. Chalk and cheese. Room 502 was amazing, a king-size bed, totally refurbished room with a large terrace overlooking Marbella Old Town and the hills beyond. The shower room was amazing, all brand new and gleaming with a huge walk-in power shower and there were facilities for making tea and coffee. Room 312 was overpriced in my opinion, but room 502 was a bargain. The location of the hotel is perfect, you walk out of the door you are in the Old Town, just steps away from all the great restaurants, and you are a three minute walk from the beach. The staff are all friendly, helpful and warm, and the housekeeping is superb, the room was cleaner than many four-star hotels I have stayed in. Would I stay again? Absolutely, but only in one of the top floor rooms.

It seems to me that the owners need to refurbish all the rooms and the public areas to the same high standards as the fifth and sixth floor. If they did that it would be the perfect boutique hotel, though I guess prices would have to go up. But even if prices went up 50 per cent it would still be a bargain.

Room Tip: Stay on he 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristobalParra, Director Comercial at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for posting about your stay! We apologize for the first room you had, it is prepared for disable people and when we are fully book we need to use it. We are happy to hear that you liked our new rooms. We will keep reforming more rooms in November, so we hope in 2 years the Hotel willbe completely refurbished.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#26 of 70 in Marbella
514 reviews
0.8 km away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 km away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Marbella
922 reviews
0.3 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,513 reviews
0.4 km away
El Faro
El Faro
#34 of 70 in Marbella
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $64 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing