We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Melia Costa del Sol(Torremolinos)
US$180
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
US$107
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bajondillo Apartments(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arcos de Montemar(Torremolinos)
US$160
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apartamentos Maria Del Carmen(Torremolinos)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartmentos Buensol(Torremolinos)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Manila(Torremolinos)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveller rating
576
597
207
58
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
597
207
58
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrankies barclub roommed playafrank sinatragarden roomthomson repgala nightjunior suitesreception stafflong trousersbenalmadena marinasea frontshow cookingevening mealrestaurant stafftea and coffee making facilitiessea view
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Pez Espada. When we arrived they gave us the wrong room, after booking I decided (1 week later I think) to upgrade to a 'Club Room' the change was accepted but they never changed it on there system. As a result we had to wait 8 hours in the room they gave us ...no point unpacking as we were going to have to move. Our reward for waiting patiently, two vouchers for a bottle of house wine....I new I should have kicked up a fuss. Once into the 'Club Room' the only difference was a sofa the fridge was unlocked you had use of the safe and tea and coffee.. A lot of the real 4* hotels now supply this as basic I believe. The location of the Hotel is great the pool area is good although you have to join the queue at about 0650 to join the race for sunbeds when the doors open at 0700. No one ever upheld there rule of removing towels from beds not used. Our first week we thought about asking to be moved but decided against it as it would be too much hassle. The food in the first week......the choice is good ....the standard is good...BUT it was ALWAYS cold or barely warm we actually ate out on 4 nights it was that bad. However I must say on week 2 things improved and it was ok, again should have made a fuss but that is not us. Was surprised they do not offer the use of an iron, only there laundry service, as you need to be 'smart' for dinner it would help if you were able to use an iron to press your clean but creased trousers and shirts. Men, long trousers at night but ladies are ok you can wear the shorts that go half way up your backside. Mostly older folk but still some with kids. For reasons I wont risk going into I would strongly recommend using the safe in the room. Then to top it off as we were checking out we were given a bill for the hotel bar for 20 euros....that was the last straw our drinks for 1 round are about 5-6 euros we rarely have 2 rounds (10-12 euros) we never have more we are not drinkers and we have always paid as we go...I started to kick off and the lady in reception said not to pay they 'may' have made a mistake. SORRY PEZ ESPADA the bad outweighed the good NEVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Work out the extra cost of upgrading to get tea coffee fridge and safe all three paid in house are about 10 euros per day
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations MedPlaya at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Phil

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at MedPlaya Pez Espada. We extend again our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced on the check in. We did not have the upgrade modification before your arrival so as soon as we checked with your travel agency that you have booked another room then our team at reception allocate you in the proper room.
Regarding the temperature of the food we already are focusing on this feedback and it will be supervised by our team in order to keep offering and excellent service in our restaurant.

Thanks again for choosing MedPlaya Pez Espada

Sincerely,

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Our 5th visit everything good except food not like it usually is.meat tough potatos hard cold plates.poor choice of deserts wont be coming back.a shame because we loved the hotel. Spotless rooms comfy very large beds.good position on passio facing beach

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear patricia s

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at MedPlaya Pez Espada an for choosing us again this year. We regret to read that the menu offered in our restaurant wasn´t to your liking this time. Your feedback will be shared with our management team in order to supervise our choice and keep offering the same great service as you have experienced before.

We would like to have a future opportunity to welcome you back,

Sincerely,

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Here for one week early June.Had a beachfront club room which was nice. Rooms were modern enough but bathroom was not! Food was ok wasn't the best have ever had and was nearly always cold but selections we're not great either.Entertainers we're good and worked hard. Found the restaurant waiters very unhelpful and just downright ignorant to be honest...they went out of their way to be that way. Staff at reception we're very good and helpful at all times. The pool was nice and location of the hotel was excellent. Still found Don Pablo and Sol Principe which are not too far from here to be better value and more enjoyable than here! All in all though is a nice hotel and certainly worth a visit

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank rob2512Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent from start to finish.
Made to feel very welcome from the moment I arrived. Room was very well turned out with good facilities and marvellous view. There was an aire about the main hotel with grand piano and photos of celebreties who had stayed in hotel over the years. Food was first class nothing a problem.
A very enjoyable visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
5  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Had twice stayed in this hotel and praised every aspect of it but this trip will be the last .
Late arrival at 1.30 am because of flight delays told by night staff food available in the restaurant we asked to leave our bags while we went for a drink only to be told no take to your room first . That was a suprise but not as bad as the room it was on the sixth floor and so small there were no separate chairs in the room sit 9n the bed or stand.
Back to the restaurant which had been laid up for about 20 late arrivals on several tables we must have been last spread among the debris of previous arrivals we saw a couple of cling filmed plates containing very sweaty cooked meat and cheese slices.
No idea how long they had been out only empty water bottles and rock hard bread rolls very poor and totally inedible . We later saw the restaurant staff preparing for late arrival at 9.15 pm before the restaurant closed at 9.30 so our so called inedible meal was obviously sat in an ambient setting for at least 4 hours.
In the morning I spoke to reception and said how dissapointed I was with arrival and the room being totally different quality from our 2 previous stays he shrugged and said and I quote “ two times you were lucky this time not no other room available “
Well 10 days living in a very small room with poor furnishings rotting wood and every thing extra comes at a price. Mini safe extra cost ,iced up fridge in the room extra cost I didn’t ask about a chair that was probably going to incur “an extra cost “
The balcony was tiny and had a two hour burst of sunshine from around 6 am the two plastic chairs about filled it up.
The bathroom had dangerously cracked wall tiles with sharp edges and very tired bath
Sadly this l9vely hotel seems to have poured all its resources into the “new” building and totally ignored the main hotel rooms.
They are lucky to have retained a number of good staff who have been there many years the restaurant and food offering is as good as it has always been that was possibly the saving grace.
Would we return ? Not again better quality rooms and packages are readily available in this area so sadly we won’t be going back. Pictures attached reflect clearly why. Reception when asked if we could eat dinner following a late check ou because of the late arrival just said “no we provided late dinner for you “ the fact that it was inedible seemed to have been forgotten or lost in translation.

Room Tip: Pay the price and try the new rooms
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Barry E

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We really regret to read that on this occasion you could not enjoy your stay as much as we also would like. Regarding the room type, we recommend to visit our website where you can find the description with pictures of our rooms and facilities. You can also book your favorite room type in order to guarantee that you will be allocated in the room your prefer.

Thanks for your comments on our team, we would like to have a future opportunity to welcome you back agan at MedPlaya Pez Espada.

Sincerely,

Daniel
Guest Relations MedPlays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews