We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Hotel Casa Morisca”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
spain
114
Reviewed 3 September 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 599 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2005

We spent 3 nights in Granada. Being our first time in Andulicia, my wife and I splurged when it came to Granada. We chose the place after reading TripAdvisor (including the negative reviews).

The hotel is small, with a Moorish theme. It is located in the old part of the city. The area is called the Albayzin, a labrynth of roads and tightly squeezed on steep hillside directly opposite the Alhambra. We stayed in one of the rooms recommended here with a view of the Alhambra from the room and bathroom. The room and bathroom was very clean.

There is no traffic outside the hotel as the hotel is located on dead-end street on a steep incline. We woke up late one morning (10:30 am) and heard some construction noise going on at a home nearby. Hardly the hotels fault. If you live in a city, it is nothing worth noticing. We had no problems with loud bars near the hotel.

The staff was very helpful at all times. One particular example. They have a limited number of parking spots just in front of the hotel. We were able to get a spot. After 4 days on the street, under a tree the car was caked with dust and leaves. After checking out, we realized we needed to clean the car...at least the windows. The hotel staff helped in providing me a water hose, towels to clean the car and even helped out with a little elbow grease. That's service!

The only negative I can say, is getting there. It is not easy at all, but then again the Albaycin is difficult to navigate anyway. The easiest way to get there is to follow the signs to the Alhambra (or ask how to get to the Alhambra). Once you get to the road leading to the Alhambra just follow the river NE until the end. Warning: the streets are very narrow in this section of the city. Exiting was a lot easier than arriving.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cantjr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2005

We spent one night in the Mirador Room in early June 2005, and the view is fabulous (however slightly interrupted by the rooms features). We splashed out on our last night in Granada and my husband really liked the room and hotel and he is a little fickle!

I too found this hotel recommended on Tripadvisor, before the more recent negative reviews.

The Mirador room is not huge but nicely decorated, simple & chic, lovely big windows almost all the way around on two sides. We had the windows open all night and no noise to complain of (either internally or externally), however it was a Sunday night so this may be why. The bathroom also has a fabulous view and the room has good facilities.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and we found the staff helpful and friendly. My only gripe is with breakfast, which is 10 euro per person. We were told it was served until 11am, so turned up at 10.30am. We had just finished out cereal when the guy started packing the whole buffet away! So we had to rush over and grab what we needed before it disappeared or request it back after it disappeared, this all happened without any warning or notice. Not the service I’d expect from this kind of establishment.

I would stay here for a room with a view, the other rooms that I saw (during house keeping) were on the small side and I don't know if it'd be worth the extra Euro to stay here then. We also stayed at Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari (on our first nights in Granada), which is just down the road and much more reasonable price wise, it’s on Tripadvisor too.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
France
111
Reviewed 7 June 2005

Stayed: May 2005
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
66  Thank ateague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,789 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
965 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,021 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: $142 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing