We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must-See in Granada”

Palacio de los Olvidados
Ranked #30 of 184 things to do in Granada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Cultural space in Granada about Sephardic culture and Inquisition. Visitors will enjoy the Sephardic Culture exhibition with original pieces from the century IV to XIX, the Inquisition exhibition with ancient instruments of torture, and wonderful views of the Alhambra. Spaces for events.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 5 September 2018

I'd always been familiar with the inquisition, but to see it up close and learn even more history was amazing. At times it was quite hard to read the descriptions of some of the torture devices. It's amazing that humans are capable of such horrific things. To see a desk that at one time someone was sitting at and deciding the fate of thousands of people was unsettling. Definitely a story to be told and they did it very well here.

Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Á, Director de Recepción at Palacio de los Olvidados, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion. We are glad that you like our museum.

Sincerely,
Palacio de los Olvidados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jewish life"
in 18 reviews
"sephardic jews"
in 13 reviews
"instruments of torture"
in 14 reviews
"spanish inquisition"
in 9 reviews
"small museum"
in 8 reviews
"several floors"
in 2 reviews
"man's inhumanity to man"
in 2 reviews
"jewish families"
in 2 reviews
"english descriptions"
in 2 reviews
"muslim rule"
in 2 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"de los"
in 5 reviews
"artifacts"
in 29 reviews
"gruesome"
in 10 reviews
"torah"
in 6 reviews
"role"
in 6 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2018

There are only a very few Jewish families left in Granada and this is a family run museum. I thought they did an excellent job of presenting information on Jewish life in Spain. The family was very friendly and we stayed quite a while. Interesting.

Thank txtfa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Á, Director de Recepción at Palacio de los Olvidados, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Our exhibition of Inquisition was created by Cultura Entretenida company and the exhibition of the Sephardic culture is from another owner but we manage it, but thanks anyway for your opinion.

Sincerely,
Palacio de los Olvidados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Since Granada was known as “Granada al yahud” of the pilgrim, no stop to Granada should be considered historically educational without a visit to see the exhibit from Palacio de los Olvidados (palace of the forgotten). The exhibit was sobering at Santa Ines (b. 16th c), the home of a Jewish marrano, at Carrera del Darro. Morriscos or converts in 1568 rebelled, and in 1609, they were expelled; this affected the grape and silk industries (whereas Jews dominated the salt industry in Morocco). Children won’t be drawn to the Inquisicion museum, but on the second floor, all can see the cultural Sephardic exhibit, such as menorahs of the conversos and the dreidel played by them as well. Everything is historical sketches, in Spanish and English, except a skeleton suspended in a cage from the attic. The first and third floors depict the torture by which heretics and Jews mostly were killed during the three centuries of Catholic-led Inquisition. The top floor provides the best direct view of Alhambra and explains the Inquisition in depth on the backs of displayed banners. At 5:30 live music began clearly next door at the cafe, and in the Inquisicion museum, flamenco shows are performed nightly around 8 pm and again from 9:30. Ticket holders can return for a discount at reception, which also sells beverages. The price for shows range from 12/16 (child/student) to 18 euros. We paid 20 Euros (not 6 Euros each) by credit card for a family rate to the museum. There is no air con, so bringing a hand fan for the top floor is advisable. (If you want to start there, a summary sheet of the historical importance of the Inquisition is written on the back of the hanging poster, nearest the windows facing toward Alhambra.) There is a ramp to the main floor and washrooms, but no elevator to the other levels. There are some graduated stairs from the cobblestone sidewalk leading to/from Plaza Nuevo or Santa Maria church, which is a popular meeting point.

1  Thank AnLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Á, Director de Recepción at Palacio de los Olvidados, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion. We are glad that you like our museum.

Sincerely,
Palacio de los Olvidados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Probably not everyone's cup of tea but it is an important part of history and it is a must. Sombre and dark, an experience which provokes thoughts.

Thank DionisisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Á, Director de Recepción at Palacio de los Olvidados, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion. We are glad that you like our exhibition.

Sincerely,
Palacio de los Olvidados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This is a great little museum, with really helpful English speaking staff. The kids (10, 13) were morbidly fascinated by the torture exhibits. The English descriptions were really helpful and brought the exhibits to horrifying life.

Two things would have improved the experience. Firstly, perhaps a slightly different structure. The larger panels providing historical context were excellent. But the broader context of the Inquisition is at the end of the tour, on the top (and hottest) floor. Putting this earlier would have been helpful for those with little knowledge of the Inquisition.

Secondly, a more specific focus on gender and sexuality would have been really interesting. There were lots of references to how women were treated at the time and in the Inquisition. And also lots of references to the treatment of homosexuality. But it might have been powerful to have a specific section or large panel setting out the prevailing attitudes towards sexuality and also the roles of men and women; and why these led to such brutal and differentiated treatment.

I also think it was also a shame that there was not more description of the exhibits of Jewish life. As a result my kids didn’t really focus on these exhibits, which was a shame as there was a lot to learn.

But overall, I’m really glad we visited and would strongly recommend it. I appreciate it’s difficult with such old buildings; but disabled access would be a real bonus.

Thank Surreygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Á, Director de Recepción at Palacio de los Olvidados, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you so much for your opinion. We will try to improve the things that you have told us.
We are glad that you like our exhibits.

Sincerely,
Palacio de los Olvidados

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palacio de los Olvidados also viewed

 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Palacio de los Olvidados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing