We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trekking & Nordic Walking near Granada”
Review of Sierra & Sol

Sierra & Sol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided hiking & trekking tours led by experienced local experts through the Natural Parks and cultural heritage areas of the mountains of southern Spain. Walk ancient footpaths and discover stunning landscapes always in small groups. Hiking and mountain exploration. Spanish language & cultural immersion, charming rural hotels, savor organically grown food, support local economy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Teresa is a wonderful guide, making sure the routes are interesting, challenging and, above all, fun!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M Teresa M, Propietario at Sierra & Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Anne,
Thank you very much for your comment. Your words are true compliments regarding our work.
We are really passionate about our nature and to make it known to visitors.
I must also thank your interest and desire to know our culture and heritage.
See you soon!
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great hike"
in 3 reviews
"dehesa"
in 2 reviews
"downtown granada"
in 2 reviews
"teresa"
in 18 reviews
"geology"
in 6 reviews
"scenery"
in 4 reviews
"nature"
in 6 reviews
"hiking"
in 6 reviews
"mountains"
in 6 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"path"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"spain"
in 4 reviews
"tours"
in 3 reviews
"alhambra"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2018

We highly recommend Sierra y Sol for a trek in the beautiful Sierra Nevada mountains. We did the day-long Verada de Estrellas trail, which was fantastic, and I understand shorter outings are also available. Teresa is a great guide: a biologist, former professor, ecologist, amateur anthropologist, promoter of ecotourism, promoter of ecotourismand genuinely delightful person. Very enthusiastic about the flora, fauna, geology, history and traditions of the area, and very happy to share her extensive knowledge. She is great company on the trail, well organized and responsive. We would definitely trek with Sierra y Sol again.

Thank FamilySpringTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M Teresa M, Propietario at Sierra & Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Michael
Thank you very much for your comment. Your words are true compliments regarding our work.
We are really passionate about our nature and to make it known to visitors.
I must also thank your interest and desire to know our culture and heritage. Both you and your lovely daughters are incredibly interested and receptive people.
I wish you the best and I say goodbye with a real desire to see you again.
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I contacted Sierra y Sol to do a hike of the Dehesa del Camarate. But as I was discussing what type of hiking tour I would like, Teresa suggested we do a more adventurous day - visiting 3 different regions of the Sierra Nevada to see how diverse and varied the landscape can be. This sounded amazing, so we quickly agreed!

We ended up having an amazing day. We were really blown away by how distinct these regions could be in such close proximity to each other. We started our day going to Haza Larguilla which was a beautiful area with dry mountains but views of deep valleys and forested mountains on all sides. The morning light was beautiful so we had gorgeous of views of misty mountains.

The second region, the Carcavas del Marchal totally blew us away. It reminded us of the otherworldy canyons and plateaus in the American west. I never expected to see something like this in Spain, and was completely amazed. The orange and red plateaus and rock formations were so beautiful.

Finally we visited the Dehesa del Camarate as I had originally asked about, doing a shorter version of the hike since we had such a full day. This area was densely forested - full of lush green trees. It also is known for the fall changing colors of the leaves - so we saw orange, red and yellow trees in the valleys below.

It was an amazing day - I'd highly recommend this interesting tour to quickly know such a broad range of landscapes. Teresa and her husband are wonderful guides. Teresa is very passionate and knowledgeable and loves to teach you all about the history of the region, the geology, the culture, and anything else you might want to know. We did this hike on our first day in Spain, and kept being reminded of things she taught us as we would travel around and encounter a landscape or a cultural item that she taught us. It helped us to enjoy and understand the country so much more.

I highly recommend Sierra y Sol for any hiking or adventure tours around Granada!

1  Thank susanmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

One of the best tours ever
Great guide and a top 5 hiking experience
Wonderful value with a Centre pickup and a personal guide

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Koda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Teresa began our day with an introduction to the geography, history and culture of the region, and showed us examples as we walked through the landscape and villages. She is a wealth of knowledge, and was a great guide as we walked through this beautiful place.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M Teresa M, Gerente at Sierra & Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for give your opinion.
It was a nice day and I also enjoyed with the group. Thanks for your attention.
Besar regards, Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sierra & Sol also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Sierra & Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing