We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lava-cake!”

La Cuchara de Carmela
Get food delivered
Ranked #100 of 1,848 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Realejo - San Matias
Description: Flavours and aromas typical of grandmother's home cooking The old Customs House – emblematic building of the city and gateway to the historical centre of Granada – welcomes the most traditional cuisine of Grupo Gastronómico Carmela. La Cuchara de Carmela transports us to the flavours and aromas of grandmother’s home cooking, made on a slow fire with a lot of love and the best quality products. Its kitchen is open all day (from 13 noon to 12 midnight) and offers traditional spoon dishes and a selection of meats and wines that will bring you closer to the local and Andalusian gastronomy with unbeatable views of the River Genil. Ideal for groups and family meals, we await you on our air-conditioned terrace, main hall or private lounge with a viewpoint.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

In total, this is not a super special place and there are more like it nearby. But we enjoyed our food and tapas and the lava-cake for desert in particular. You can tell the chef put his heart into it!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pacifico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Pacifico W,
Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, especially our Coulant de Chocolate
We hope to see you again soon to discover more our cuisine.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service superb! Our service ladies Maria & Rocio did an excellent work in recommending and I would recommend that place, specially these two ladies.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Haroldtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Haroldtje,
Thank you for your feedback!
We will pass your kind words onto our team members. María, Rocío and all the team hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards from all of us at La Cuchara de Carmela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Trip Advisor, why such a high rating? It's more a street cafe that serves food rather than a restaurant right next to a main road with no view or proximity to anything in particular. It doesn't have a vibe or atmosphere or anything whatsoever. On the upside, service was excellent and the food was ok. You are sprayed with cooling mist which is a blessing

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Figs_Olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Figs_Olives,
Thank you for your post. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our food and service, however we are sorry to hear that you have a mixed feeling just because the location. Our terrace - at street level- has views of a quiet square but, from our viewpoint on the second floor you can see Genil River and the exuberant Paseo del Salón Garden.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future so you can enjoy the surroundings and our home made quality cuisine.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

5 people - 3 carnivores, 1 vegetarian and one almost vegan. All five of us were super full after our lunch. Granted, we went totally overboard on ordering 8 or 9 different dishes, but it was well worth the slightly lopsided and veeeery slow walk back.
Slightly expensive, but worth every cent. Truly. Every single cent.

The croquettas are to die for, the soup (both the onion and the garlic soup) are super tasty and the food in general is really substantial, it'll really truly fill you up. And the dessert - oooooh my, the little über-yummy desserts called Tears of the Sultana - that has to be my absolute favourite. Extremely light, fluffy yet crispy, cinnamon, sooo so nice, I could eat it all day and night and day...

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank TheAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Dear TheAng:
Many thanks for your comment!
It has been a pleasure to read your kind words about us.
We will be waiting for your next visit to Granada.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We ordered different dishes and we all enjoyed our food. Not cheap but good value. Sea food was particularly very good. It's just next door to the monasterio de los basilicos where we stayed.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Hariati Titiek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela R, Propietario at La Cuchara de Carmela, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thank you so much Mrs Hariati S.O.!
It has been a pleasure to read your kind words about us.
We will be waiting for your next visit to Granada.
Best regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cuchara de Carmela also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Cuchara de Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.