We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Seville Cathedral
from US$47.75
More Info
from US$26.60
More Info
from US$26.60
More Info
from US$33.00
More Info
Reviews (22,067)
Filter reviews
22,067 results
Traveller rating
15,202
5,396
1,201
173
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15,202
5,396
1,201
173
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tomb of christopher columbus bell tower giralda tower el salvador main altar audio guide la giralda awe inspiring sheer size worth the climb orange trees entrance fee beautiful building queue choir tickets architecture
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 22,067 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Having been to a few of the well-known cathedrals in Spain like La Sagrada Familia & the Barcelona Cathedral - with both setting the bar pretty high - the Seville Cathedral is magnificent. The vast openness once you are inside made a personal impact... Something one has to experience when visiting Seville!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank BurnToExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

My biggest question after booking tickets online for a visit to Sevilla’s largest (in every sense) attraction was whether you actually had to print out a hard copy of the ticket confirmation to take with you (an online searches didn’t provide an answer!). With no printer available at the apartment where we were staying, we decided to risk it and hope the cathedral had the technology to cope with scanning the barcode from my iPhone.
We needn’t have worried. After making our way past the long queue to buy tickets and finding the ticket holder entrance, the barcode was scanned direct from my screen and we had gained entry to explore this impressive monument.
It was certainly well worth a visit, but for me didn’t quite match the splendour or spectacle of St Peters in Rome, but it’s close. The many chapels around main cathedral building display varying degrees of opulence, but all are ornate and deserve close scrutiny. The quantity of artwork - oil painting and artefacts in precious metals -much of it from the 17th century, is particularly extraordinary.
A highlight has to strolling to the top of the Giralda Bell Tower. As is widely reported elsewhere, this has ramps in stead of stairs (until the very last section) and is reasonably easy to navigate. It’s single file both up and down - and don’t forget to walk on the right! - and the eventual views across the city of Seville are stunning.
Once back at ground level, the only disappointment was there were no underground areas to explore. No opportunity to look around the crypt or see the holiest of artefacts stored under the main altar - but I guess you can’t have everything!

Date of experience: March 2018
18  Thank graemetadata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful cathedral! We bought the tickets at San Salvador church, that way we could visit Both churches for the same price but also skip the long lines at the entrance since you can get straight in with that ticket. The Cathedral is an amazing piece of history, largest gothic cathedral in Europe. It contains the tomb of Christopher Columbus although the tour guide mentioned they conducted DNA tests on hi remains and only 15% were related to him. In any case, it is a humbling monument, beautiful. You can’t miss it if you are in Seville! The price of entrance also includes the Giralda, the tall tower part of the Cathedral. The views from up there are beautiful and even though it is tall, there are no stairs but a ramp so not difficult at all to get to the top.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank juliaa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

2nd biggest Gothic and 3rd biggest cathedral in the world. Christopher Columbus' tomb and a gentle climb to the top of the tower to get a wonderful view of the city. Cathedrals always amaze me with their sheer scale, but Seville stands out even among cathedrals.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Largest gothic cathedral in the world. Stunning architecture, art work etc! Get the audio guide and allow about 2 hours to take this in. Christopher Columbus is entombed here.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Josephivimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews