We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Born(Palma de Mallorca)
US$202
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Can Cera(Palma de Mallorca)
US$344
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
UR Palacio Avenida(Palma de Mallorca)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cort(Palma de Mallorca)
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Melia Victoria(Palma de Mallorca)
US$231
US$207
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$135
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Costa Azul(Palma de Mallorca)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Palladium(Palma de Mallorca)
US$255
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brondo Architect Hotel(Palma de Mallorca)
US$143
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,701)
Filter reviews
1,701 results
Traveller rating
589
711
253
96
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
711
253
96
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto pifunicular liftsea viewsteep hillstreet levelthe busindoor pooljoan miroterrace barpalma centreshort breakreception stafffantastic viewsold townlovely hotelpool towelsbus service
Filter
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 1,701 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked the hotel via avios and main reason was due to the views and pool, on booking we were assured all rooms had sea facing views. Two weeks prior to stay I was reading up and one comment on trip advisor was to ensure you pay extra for a sea view. Emailed hotel who said I would need to upgrade at 15 euros a night, I then contacted avios who said their system didn't say all rooms had sea views and it must gave been booking agent error and to leave with them.
On arrival at hotel the check in lady (Anna) said the hotel had no record of any contact with me or agent and if I wanted sea view I would have to pay. Not one for hassle I did in the hope the hotel manager would look into later as I requested.
Room had fabulous view but was small, flooring was terrible ( laminate had gaps between joins), aircon noisy and useless and mini bar cupboard had chunks knocked out corner due to room being small.
Hotel is on edge of comfortable walking distance to old town but staff on the whole are very good, breakfast is good, hotel is clean with a nice pool.
Just a pity between booking company and hotel they fleeced me and ended up expensive stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesc1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

On regards to your comments about the sea view, I do not really understand the problem. As you say in your comment, you read up one comment on tripadvisor saying that you have to pay extra for a sea view, then you contacted an avios agent who said that their system didn't say all rooms had sea views and finally the receptionist Anna informed you that you have to pay a supplement for a sea view, and if you go to our website or another website like booking.com, for instance, you will check that there is a supplement for a sea view so, where is the gap?. As far as I am concerned, everything was absolutely clear. I am convinced that it is not fair to say that you were fleeced.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel was fantastic! Stayed a week half-board. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was top-notch with everything you could think of. Room was large and cleaned daily. Recommend to anyone. Diane Gibson Glasgow

Room Tip: Sea view recommended.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Diane,

It is a pleasure to read your post about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

Thank you very much for your kind recomendation !!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Currently staying at this hotel, it's beautiful, clean and staff are very helpful! Views are amazing we have a sea view room and well worth the extra money! Only disappointment is there is no kettle in room, no way of hiring a kettle?? For me I need a cup of tea in morning to function and last thing at night this has been a massive miss for me! Would be happy to hire but told this is not available!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Lee2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Lee,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients.

It is a pleasure for me to inform you that from now on, we will have a few kettles by the reception, just in case that any guest miss it.

Best regards from Palma de Mallorca.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the majorica for a stay of 5 days, bed and breakfast and it was lovely, it looks a bit daunting being up on a hill, but there is a lift on a track which takes you down to where the main shops are after a 10 minute walk, the staff are polite and helpful, there is a free safe in the room, and our room overlooked the stunning views over the marina and the sea behind, the room is large and a ceiling fan makes you feel lovely and cool along with the air con, which works well, the breakfast is nice and there is a cook ready to whip up a fresh omelette or fry some eggs for you, The pool area is quiet and clean well maintained by the pool attendant who will not tolerate guests leaving towels on the bed, and then go shopping expecting them to still be in place, he will remove them and keeps belongings safe for your return, it was quite funny one day when a woman returned after having breakfast expecting her towels and bag to be there.....they had been removed and to her disgust when she could not get a sun bed for the rest of the day,,,,, very entertaining , the poor lady was german so I don't think she will return to the majorica again, oh well !!! never mind,..... on a more serious note don't over look this hotel and have wonderful holiday ,,, like we did

Room Tip: pay a bit more for a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for all your comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our magnificent views from the room, our excellent breakfast with fresh omelettes and of course it is very nice to know that you appreciated the assistance of our pool attendant.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Best regards from Palma de Mallorca,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay the Catalonia Majorca Hotel (22-26 June 2014).

We got a private taxi transfer from the airport but were robbed at being charged 34 Euros - apparently it is a bit more expensive on Sundays and late at night - but otherwise expect to pay around 21 Euros.

The hotel has an elevated position near the port area and it has magnificent panoramic views of Palma.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to a lovely room (Room 215) with magnificent views across the Bay of Palma..

It took us around 35 minutes to walk into Palma at a gentle walking pace whilst appreciating the amazing boats and yachts in the marinas

For those who would prefer public transport Majorca has an excellent bus service.

The hotel was spotlessly clean with helpful and caring staff.

Two slightly adverse comments; for a four star hotel we would have expected a 'courtesy room' rather than have to 'make do' using the facilities of the gym - the facilities in this area are not four star, and there was no hairdryer!

The other comment is that the otherwise excellent cooked breakfast was spoiled by the lady chef who was pretty hopeless (albeit 'nice') at frying eggs and bacon! She broke nearly every egg and then laughed shrugging her shoulders as if it wasn't her fault.

Excellent choice of fruit, cold meats and cheeses and freshly baked breads and cakes etc. for breakfast.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to those looking for a few quiet days away in the sun.

Perhaps more suited to discerning couples, rather than those seeking the night clubs of Palma, and in our view not really suitable for young children.

Room Tip: Request a Bay View room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike-and-Lynne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback estimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed very much our hotel, apart from the incident with the fried eggs. For your information, the girl at the show cooking was new and still had to improve her tecnique. Nowadays it does not happen any more.

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews