We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Hotel needs a bit of TLC.....however the staff is good. BUT beware when booking exclusions. You are sold the most expensive.
Our excursion didn't happen because we were given incorrect departure info.
Nice views from balcony rooms at front and superb tapas in restaurant.

Room Tip: Any with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gpratt2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend a few days in Palma de Mallorca and thank you as well for rating our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

The hotel has several good points but many of its weaker ones could be impoved with little effort. The location is not ideal for a holiday based in central Palma as it is a 25-30 minute walk away. However, taxis are cheap and readily available. It enjoys a beautiful view of the bay and is a short walk to a local shopping centre which has lots of places to eat, many shops and a large Carrefour supermarket.

The hotel has a swimming pool and sunbeds which are very popular on sunny days. The terrace and bar area serves drinks, snack and meals throughout the day and evening. Service is patchy as it is in other areas of the hotel such as reception and at breakfast. There appear to be staff of only two types: helpful, friendly and efficient OR slow, disorganised and distracted. This does not apply to the chamber maids who were invariably pleasant and put the customers' needs first.

We stayed in a triple room which was fairly spacious and had a large balcony. I would say there was not enough storage space for three adults on a week's stay. No drawers at all, limited shelf space and only a small area for hanging clothes. Our room did not have tea and coffee making facilities although I understand that some more expensive rooms do. The wi-fi was good.

Service could be improved by, for example, providing the pool towel service at the pool itself instead of at reception. It was frustrating to have to wait for 10 minutes for reception staff to sort out a reservation problem to change the pool towels which took less than 10 seconds. The same applied to ordering a taxi. It took a matter of seconds but we had to wait till the reception staff had sorted out a problem (of which there seemed to be many).

We booked quite near to our arrival date so we did not have a lot of choice but I think that by looking at our options earlier, we would have found better value for money nearer the city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy202021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Lucy, thank you for your visit and for your detailed assessment of your stay with us.
We are very sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled. Please be assured that constructive criticism will be tested by us and they are indispensable for our quality improvement.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

a group of 6 of us have just returned from a 7 night stay. everyone loved it!

worth paying the extra for a sea view. we had a bigger room last year but a bigger balcony this year.

breakfast is great although at the weekend it was so busy was hard to find a seat.

lovely chilled pool area, shame the bar wasn't open this year. i guess we were out of season.

only had dinner in the hotel on the first night, the food was good bust service was slow. it was the same at lunchtimes and at the bar. maybe it was busier than they expected and they needed more staff. the staff were always friendly and apologised for the wait.

would recommend stocking up on water, snacks etc from the carrefour supermarket 5 mins walk up the road at porto pi. there is also an excellent restaurant there called el chato. we had the best paella.

would love to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JerseyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for coming back again and thank you for your lovely review. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us and it is a pleasure to know that you had such an enjoyable stay in our hotel. I am already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Well kept hotel, lovely rooms! We booked a room with sea view, this is a must, the rooms on the backside of the hotel have a dreadful view. The view was BEAUTIFUL!
Good breakfast, clean everywhere, nice patio with pool and sunbeds. Great and very helpful staff!
20 mins walk to city, beautiful stroll. Bus stops right outside the hotel, leaves every 10 mins.
Great shopping center ( Porto Pi ) within 5 mins walking distance.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JStrandBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit and of course for your lovely review. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us. I would like to share your great comment with my team. I am already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The best thing about this hotel is defiantly the views overlooking port and marina with beautiful sunrise in the mornings. The lift to the lower street entrance was working and an appreciated feature used everyday. There is a large shopping centre about 10 min walk away with a large supermarket for any essentials you may need during your stay. Our room was large with adequate air con, good WIFI connection and beds were comfortable.
The outdoor pool area was often busy however the water was very cold even on days where the temperature was over 25 degrees, so I would imagine it wouldn't be any use in colder months.
Check in was slow despite no other guests checking in with us and we found some of the reception staff unfriendly or abrupt. Bar staff and cleaners were far more friendly. Overall the hotel was OK with some small maintenance issues but not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xisco_barea, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Damian, thank you for your visit and thank you as well for your detailed assessment of your stay with us. We are very sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled. Please be assured that constructive criticism will be tested by me and they are indispensable for our quality improvement.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.2 km away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
236 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Palma Bellver By Melia
Hotel Palma Bellver By Melia
#30 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
2,314 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#62 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BQ Augusta
BQ Augusta
#24 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
484 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Armadams
Hotel Armadams
#50 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
414 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
NH Ciudad de Mallorca
#44 of 75 in Palma de Mallorca
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#27 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $106 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing