We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atlantic Mirage Suites & Spa(Puerto de la Cruz)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Las Aguilas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$139
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
ValleMar(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$201
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
9
27
34
25
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
27
34
25
44
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2014

Firstly let me start by saying this hotel is rated a 3star well this certainly is not the case! 1star is about all i could give to this hotel,the hotel is date & rundown paint peeling off all the walls,and as for all inclusive this should be half board only,the service is appalling, the staff rude,and the bar in the lobby was only open in the evening the sign say's 10-11,00 hrs & then you had to wait all the time as the staff were always doubling up everywhere,there were no snacks through out the day only at meal times, the food was appalling!!you got very little choice 4 trays of hot(not)& 4 of cold there were cockroaches in dinning room and in food!and when you complained they were not interested,the pool bar was only open from 10 30 till 1pm as closed for 2hrs and they never came bk on time while we where there there was a work man who came & started cementing the side of the pool when people were swimming &walking about no signs were put up to say beware, ( disgrace!!!hazard!!,)The entertainment was a joke one eve out of wk with man on a piano rubbish!!The rooms were run down & shabby towels were not changed every day we had to throw them on the floor in the end to get them changed as was the same for the bed linen they just pull up same sheets,the toilet was dirty and decor peeling of walls & light fittings ,and kitchen the fridge was covered with rust and the sideboards had dirt arond them hence we had animals crawling everywhere.All in All this place should be shut down and revampt to the standard it advertise's 3star !!!!.

Room Tip: go for a room with seaview as on the other side of this hotel is derilct buildings,but i would never stay hear again!!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

When we arrived the room was dated but clean, fab view of the beach from the balcony but also of a derelict building. Room was cleaned every day, clean towels and beds made so couldn't fault that. Food was very basic and mainly salads, bread rolls were more like brick rolls most days. Selection was poor and most of the cooked food was dry especially the chips. 2 days before we came home there was a cockroach in the dinning area on one of the tables that put me off my dinner, that evening there was a cockroach in the coleslaw that i put on my plate needless to say we didn't eat there for the rest of our stay. Dinner time the bar by the pool would close from one till two thirty and no snacks were provided, therefore we would have to get dressed and go to the dinning area for a drink or food and had to stay there to eat or drink it and to add insult to injury when the pool bar was open most of the time the staff wouldn't be there leaving you to wait up to half an hour until the returned. Some of the staff were very pleasant especially the lifeguard, the others need to work on their people skills. The beds were like bricks and contributed to waking up many times uncomfortable. All in all i would never go there again no matter what, as in the beginning i thought the reviews i read were over exaggerated and people were expecting too much for the price they had paid but by day 4 i couldn't wait to get home and thought it was an absolute dive. No entertainment for guests but local events and activities for people who lived in the area throughout the week. I believe the fact that you have already paid makes them think it doesn't matter any way!!! Most of the british customers that i spoke to throughout the week also felt the same.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikkij1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This hotel is not worth the money you pay to stay there. The food was awful, I am aware that different people have different tastes, but, I can only give my opinion. The hotel mainly caters for German and Spanish tourists. There was no entertainment in the evenings for the whole week that I stayed there. For an all inclusive holiday that I paid for, there were no snacks available as you would expect, the coffee machine which was in the restaurant was switched off after breakfast as was the orange juice machine, therefore non was available after breakfast, unless you bought your own and made it yourself in your room. The room itself was ok, apart from the bathroom which had, the paint flacking off the units and shelves, the fridge was covered in rust, and the balcony had pieces of plaster missing. I was given clean towels every day, the only problem was that the towels I was given on more than 1 occasion had holes in them or were old and fraying at the bottom. When booking this hotel it stated there were hair dryers in the rooms so I didn't take mine, only to find out that you have to hire a hair dryer from reception at the cost of 2 Euros a day, which doesn't sound a lot, but if a web site states that it is in the room then why should you have to pay extra for it???. The staff work hard and were friendly enough, but this did not make up for the rest of it. The location is perfect and Puerto de la Cruz itself was lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jannis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

so bad hotel..everything was bad..rooms...bed really hard and pillows too...good i had my own pillow with me..food..so bad..we had half-board but after one day only i went to breakfast..that was so terrible...location was ok... and stuff...hhhhmmmm...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 920yaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Having read the many negative reviews, we still decided to give this hotel a try.
And we were very pleasantly surprised.
The staff worked hard and were most helpful - the reception staff, the waiters and waitresses in the dining room, and the room cleaners all made efforts to satisfy our needs. Yes, one person did frequently double-up as bar-person and helping in the restaurant but this was not too inconvenient.
We stayed on half-board terms and believe that this is the best option. Breakfast was from 07:30 until 09:30; lunch was from 12:00 to 14:00; dinner was from 19:00 to 21:00. Quite acceptable. The self-service format worked very well - and it was frequently fun trying to learn what something was called with Spanish, German, Italian, Rumanian, French, Belgian, Scottish, Welsh and other English Guests. The selection of main-course food was adequate without being top class, but remember we were not paying 5-star prices. Our main disappointment was that the dessert selection was poor.
And, for our convenience, the receptionist, Raphael, stated that if, on any day, we wished to exchange lunch for dinner, we only had to let him know.
Our room was spacious and clean and we had a large balcony with views of the sea one way and Mount Tiede the other. The beds were large and comfortable. The bed linen, although a little old, was well laundered and clean. The towels were old but were quite usable. And the room was well cleaned every morning and the towels, bath and hand, changed every day.
So, in conclusion, our experience of the Palmeras Playa was quite satisfactory. If we had wanted a 5-star hotel we would have chosen one and paid the appropriate price!
We don't know what some people expect for the amount of money they pay . . . there is no pleasing some people.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank johnonholidayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews