We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel RF Astoria(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
H10 Tenerife Playa(Puerto de la Cruz)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ValleMar(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$118
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Las Aguilas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sol Costa Atlantis(Puerto de la Cruz)
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Catalonia Las Vegas(Puerto de la Cruz)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
4Dreams Hotel(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sun Holidays(Puerto de la Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
51
147
108
46
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
147
108
46
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringla pazrooms cleaned times a weekpool garden viewsmall wallfixed immediatelyring stovecloser to the beachfilter coffee machinecomfortable furnituresized poolstandard studioliving areahotel oppositetwo twin bedsthe tv remote controlgood size
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 396 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We had booked this very much last minute, as the holiday we had already booked in Corfu was cancelled at the last minute. We didn't have much chance to look around, and settled on this place because it looked reasonable, and there was a good last-minute deal. We had chosen half-board for the Corfu trip, so we took it for this one, too.

First sight of the hotel wasn't too encouraging, in that it had lots of small tourist-type shops near, and right next to, it. The reception area was fine, though, and the lady at the desk was helpful, and spoke reasonable English. The Hotel is an L-shape, with the inside of the L overlooking the pool and garden area,and the outside, the busy roads and where we were, first night, the loading bays and the bins.

The room was long and narrow, with a small kitchen section against one wall; electric kettle, filter coffee machine, 2 x hotplates. No oven or microwave; adequate for tea, coffee, or very basic cooking; twin beds of a decent width, average length, with the sleeping area separated from the rest of the room by a small wall, about 5ft (about 1.52m) high. Adequate furniture, plenty power points, quite good wardrobe space. Decent bathroom facilities. There was a balcony the full width of the room, with the usual plastic table & chairs (2), and a system of strings for drying clothes. Smoking is allowed on the balconies here, but not in the rooms.

First night was so noisy we had trouble sleeping; delivery lorries at all hours, large hotel bins being moved and emptied at around midnight, cars making maximum noise into the wee small hours and revellers revelling at the tops of their voices. Then it started again early doors. Not a good start. So we complained, and asked for another room - sorry, none available, unless you want one at the pool side for extra 9 euros a night. We'd booked for 2 weeks, so opted to pay; it was well worth it. If you're going to stay here, pay extra for the poolside rooms.. Not only does it cut the noise level a lot, but you should have (when it's not under cloud) a great balcony view of Mount Teide (pronounced locally as "Tayday") and sunshine for most of the day, depending which wing you're in.

The restaurant is like a cafeteria; all self-service buffet-style meals, in a large room with terrible accoustics, but the food was generally very acceptable, with good variety and staff on hand to clear the empties as you go up for your next course(s). And you eat as much as you want. The bar area is a bit soulless, but it does have live music - one player, electronics and occasionaly a singer - most nights.

The pool area is grassed rather than paved, and you fetch your own sunbeds from stacks round the garden area. It's spartan, but kept clean, and does have a small pool bar with some catering facilities of the hamburger & chips variety. The pool is clean and clear, and no apparent chlorine to burn your eyes.

Staff was all helpful; most had some English. The place was kept clean throughout. There are lots of eating places very close, and a supermarket 2 minutes walk away. The beaches are quite a distance down very steep hills, but easily walkable, or only 3.15 Euros by taxi. The hotel caters for a number of different countries, too; more than we've seen generally in The Canaries. There were a lot of Spaniards, Germans, French and Scandinavians, with some eastern europeans. Generally, the British were outnumbered when we were there.

It was a real mixture, as I said, of good and bad. But once we'd moved rooms, it all seemed much better, and our evenings out on the balcony, looking at the mountains, were real nice.

Room Tip: Poolside is by far the best, for the views and the noise-reduction. Best to be higher up for this, floors 4 and 5 are good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are sorry that you could not enjoy your originally booked holiday at Corfu. Indeed our garden / pool view rooms are quiet and have a great view over the garden and Mount Teide. We are pleased that generally speaking you were, despite of all, satisfied with your stay. Me and my team are very keen to make our guests´ holiday as pleasant as possible. We thank you for having been our guests and of course we all would be happy if in the future you decide to stay with us again.
José Cruz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The staff at this hotel during the day were not very helpful and didn't speak much English.
There is a deposit to pay for the TV remote control but only had 3 channels in English of which 2 were children's channels and the other one was CNN. We went self catering but on arrival we had just a coffee machine a kettle a fridge and a 2 ring hob. No microwave or toaster.
There is no air conditioning or ceiling fans in the room which makes for a very uncomfortable sleep.
There are dogs living in the hotel and it seems to be partially owner occupied not for holiday let but permanent residents.
Our view was of a car park and another hotel.
The pool area is very uneven as it is mainly grassed.The slabs that are there seem to be lifting and we had to move at one point so that the grass could be cut.
The lifeguard doubles as a bar tender and was not really able to watch the pool from where he was.
The hotel is in need of a makeover to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gillyflower18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear guest,
We thank you for your review and for having been our guests. We regret very much that we did not meet your full approval . Although we are very surprised at some of your comments. Our staff normally is considered as very helpful by our guests and especially the reception staff does speak English. There is a deposit to be paid for the remote controller, which is quite usual also in other properties. The facilities that are offered are correctly featured in the description. In our hotel, pets are welcome, of course, always on request and guests must commit themselves to follow our house rules. Our lifeguard is,while on duty, perfectly controlling the situation of the pool area and fulfills all official requirements. Your opinion is of course taken into consideration by all of us.
José Cruz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Stayed here for one week self-catering. Cannot fault the place for tidiness and cleanliness. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We had a ground floor room looking out over the gardens which were magnificent. The gardener is out early each morning (except Sunday) doing his maintenance; watering, collecting leaves, pruning,etc. The rooms are cleaned every day and the replacement bed linen and towels can only be described as pristine.
There appeared to be some maintenance or refurbishment going on while we were there. Parts of the walls in the corridor looked to have been prepared for some re-plastering or painting and some of the skirting boards had been removed. There was also a gentleman visible in some of the rooms touching up some of the paintwork.
The rooms are spacious and well laid out. Everything in the room works.
On the hotel amenities side we didn't use very much as we tended to spend our time walking around the town or on the sea front. There is a restaurant and bar which looked quite good. There is also a pool bar which was well used by those on the loungers. We used the TV which required a 10euro deposit for a remote. We like to watch the news in the morning and evening. Unfortunately, the usual news channels seemed to be the only English channels available since the remainder catered mainly for Spanish or German guests. There is also Wi-Fi which again we didn't used but, I believe, costs 4euros for an access code.
I have one or two very, very, very small gripes. Firstly, our patio door tended to stick on the runners and was quite difficult to open. However, this is nothing a screwdriver and a bit of grease couldn't cure. The electric kettle didn't seem to have an automatic cut-off when boiling so we had to keep a wary eye on it when making a cuppa. Lastly, there was a filter coffee machine in the room which we will never use. I would have much preferred a toaster.
I did see some cockroaches which were quickly dealt with and there were considerably less at the Tiede Mar than some other Canary Island apartments I have stayed at.
All in all this is a lovely place to stay and I would certainly recommend to others and would certainly stay again.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear David,
We are sorry for the delay in answering your review. Thank you very much for having taken your time in writing it. Certainly, it will be of help for other travellers. We have of course taken into account your suggestions, because it is our aim to provide the best possible service to our guests. We are thrilled that there were many issues that did meet your approval and of course it will be a pleasure for me and my team to welcome you again, whenever you wish to stay with us. Meanwhile thank you for having been our guests this time.
José Cruz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

hotel in good area,very pleasant,easy for taxis,buses.lovely bars andsupermarkets.botanical gardens.comfortable shaded pool area.we would certainly visit again.jolly good holiday i recommend this hotel for any age group.very convenient.

Room Tip: we were on third floor facing the road it was good to watch people.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertfeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for your kind review which is highly appreciated by me and my team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your place and that we met your approval. Thank you for having been our guests and recommending us to other travellers.
We would be most happy to welcome you again in the future.
José Cruz,
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Despite some bad reviews we had a lovely time from 29th sept until 7th oct 2017.
Staff are friendly, food good, we were self catering. Yes you are at the top of the hills. 230 steps to be precise but all in all a nice hotel for a good price. Only downside is the noise on the front road apartments. Get some double glazing in would sort

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at smartline Teide Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear David,
Thank you ever so much for your kind review and for having been our guests. We are pleased to read that you had a good time with us. Indeed, our hotel is located in La Paz area and one can reach down town over steps. But taxis are very cheap and also the local buses. Perhaps if you wish to stay with us again, book a pool view room. These rooms are very quiet if you prefer have it like this.
We would be happy to welcome you again.
José Cruz
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews