We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
704
215
32
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
215
32
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens squash court pool area low key entertainment excellent hotel hotel director breakfast and dinner courtesy bus tea and coffee making facilities pool attendant relaxing holiday mini golf a quiet residential area each guest dressing gowns buffet style small gym
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and
I just returned from this lovely hotel in Puerto De La Cruz.
The hotel, the staff and the food in the restaurant was first class.
Cannot fault this hotel in any way and will definitely return there in the future.
Well done to the management & staff, you are doing a great job in your lovely hotel. Faultless and excellent value as a bonus.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank paddydhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind Comments.

We are so glad to hear about your stay with us. It makes us very happy to receive such nice comments about our lovely hotel and first class food. We have shared you thank-you comment with all the staff. Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help or you have any request with your next booking.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Kind regards,


Luis Hernández-García
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This hotel is in a quiet location in a residential part of Puerto de la Cruz.The Hotel is clean and well cared for,the staff are friendly,the service superb and the food is excellent.The British are in the minority but this makes for an interesting holiday as there is a mix of nationalities.This is our third visit but I am sure it won't be our last

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sheilarowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent description about Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our quite location, clean hotel, friendly staff superb service and excellent food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you had wonderful and relaxing holydays in our hotel. Thanks for your recommendation.

Let us know about your next visit to offer you a beautiful room.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández

Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is my first 5 star review and is well deserved by this hotel. Firstly, the hotel DOES have wifi, it's just that the signal is a bit weak sometimes, depending on where you are. Hotel is spotless, gardens are immaculate and the staff are very friendly and hardworking. Gustavo the pool lifeguard was always on his feet giving out sunbed mattresses and keeping the pool area safe and tidy. As previously mentioned, he is a credit to the hotel.
No music at the pool area which is a bonus for those who like peace and quiet, also no inflatables allowed in the pool. Most of the guests were german with very few brits. This definitely not a typical "brits abroad hotel" of which there are many in the south of the island. Very quiet at night and probably had the best sleep i've had in a hotel.
The food was excellent and varied, and if like me you are health conscious there is plenty of choice at breakfast with cereals, seeds and plenty of fresh fruit. Plenty of choice in the evenings as well with fresh fish every night, paella, different meats, rice, chips and pizza for the fussy kids etc. No-one will go hungry at this hotel.
Hotel is in a quiet area with free parking outside and nearby if you have a hire car. About 20min walk into puerto de la cruz downhill, but very steep coming back. Like us, I would recommend a car although practically the only place to park in town centre was an underground car park under the mercadona supermarket. Only cost a few euros per night and saves driving about for ages trying to find somewhere to park. Resort has plenty of restaurants and shops and a nice promenade with no rowdy pubs blaring loud music. A nice place to go for the evening.
Only downside for us was the weather. It was cloudy for 5 days during out stay. In fact, we had to resort to driving 40 mins east to las terrisitas beach near santa cruz to get some sunshine. Great beach with imported white sand from sahara. This island clearly has a microclimate in the north. Weather is completely different to the south due to the mountain ranges which surround puerto. Bear this in mind before you book. This is not based on our experience as we also have a relative who lives on the island near puerto.
Overall, a great holiday and the manager at the Garoe should be commended on the way he runs this hotel. All hotels should be like his!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gaylestu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our friendly staff, especially to Gustavo our pool attendant. Thanks also for the good comments about our spotless hotel with inmaculate gardens and excellent and varied food. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you have been a wonderful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

What can we say that hasn't already been said, the hotel is kept to a very high standard, the service is great, the food is very good (a bit limited for choice compared to other hotels that we have stayed in, but what you get is done very well), sunbeds are always available and the pool area is made to be a very relaxing area, Gustav the pool life guard / attendant keeps it spotless and peaceful. There is waitress service around the pool for drinks ect. The rooms are comfortable with good quality mattresses. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is set about 25 - 30min walk into the town, all down hill, but all up hill on the way back, but there is a courtesy bus if required. There are numerous bars and restaurants close by. There is nightly entertainment in the hotel but we didn't really stay for this. There are lots of nationalities stay here and whilst we were there quite a lot of Germans, and I must say that they were better behaved and more respectful than most holiday makers we have encountered. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing holiday, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank andymaknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Clients,

Thank you very much for the excellent comments on Riu Garoé Hotel.

Thanks for the positive comments about our high standard hotel, great service, good food and nice staff with your especial mention to Gustavo. These are great comments which help us to continue growing and providing our customers with holiday as their own. We are satisfied to know that you have been a peaceful and relaxing holidays in our hotel.

Let us know about your next visit to satisfy all your wishes.

Yours Faithfully,

Luís Hernández
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately, the hotel's wifi is so slow that, in fact, it is not functional. It's frustrating to try to navigate the internet. I complained at the front desk, and they told me that it is just the way it is, throughout the hotel. There's no solution. So, if you're a guest that needs wifi, don't stay at this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis-B-Hernandez, Director General at Hotel Riu Garoe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the constructive comments about Riu Garoé Hotel.

The Riu Garoé Hotel offers Free wifi for all our guest. however sometimes it is not as fast as our customers wish. We will take note about your comments and move to the appropriate department to find a quick solution.

Best regards,

Luís Hernández

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews