We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic Paella”

L'Escamarla Restaurant
Ranked #4,864 of 10,661 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$28 - US$58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Poblenou
Description: L'Escamarlá in on the sea front in a privileged position on Barcelona's esplanade. Simple and unpretentious Mediterranean cooking can be enjoyed on its terrace, based on the best fish and the freshest shellfish. Its menu includes seafood, rice and fried dishes, as well as house recommendations that include sea bass in salt, whole sea bream or lobster ?a la plancha?. There is also a range of meat dishes and special menus for groups or corporate dining. Many of the dishes are for two people.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I’ve had better paella from Waitrose or even Sainsburys. They used a precooked average base. Threw on some seafood and delivered it to the table. The waiter took out order and delivered the bill, he didn’t even ask how the food was. It was the worst paella I have ever had and I eat it regularly.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

We make sure that all ingredients in our menu are the best quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Where to begin?! Waiter argued over our choice of food. Told a number of us to shut up. Didn’t get the starters we ordered. The main courses came out so far apart that all but 3 of our party had finished before the final people were served and even then it was the wrong food!
Wine ordering took 4 attempts to get right.
Oh and the choices that we ordered but never came were on the bill to which the waiter got quite irate when we refused to pay for them.
AVOID!

Thank carrieg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We know the waiter was do the mistakes you are talking about and we are sorry for all. We Will use that comment for improve, thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Came here for business with a group of 11.

Waiter was useless and so very rude. Added things to the bills that we didn’t order. Came back 3 times to ask for our order when half the table had been served. We tried to give him the benefit of the doubt but service was awful. I didn’t get my meal until the entire table had finished theirs. He even told one of us to shut up whilst we were talking so he could sell us wine. Now the food was edible so there’s that but would never come back again.

Thank laoise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We are really sorry for the mistake of The waiter. Thanks for your comment, we Will use that for improve day by day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Amazing sea food with amazing paella! The service is very friendly and great! You must try paella and sangria

Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for your visit and your comment. Willing to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Eating squid ink seafood paella beachside with a view of the ocean was priceless!! Highly recommend!!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aline M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for your comment. We are so happy to know our job has a good final. willing to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escamarla Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to L'Escamarla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;