We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Basilica In Europe”

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.57*
and up
Priority Access: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour
Ranked #1 of 699 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Basilica of the Sagrada Familia is a monumental church devoted to the Holy Family: Jesus, Mary and Joseph. Construction began in 1882, based on plans drawn up by the architect Francisco de Paula del Villar, and Antoni Gaudi was commissioned to continue the project in 1883. The Temple has always been an expiatory church, built only from donations. As Gaudi said: "The Expiatory Church of the Sagrada Familia is made by the people and is mirrored in them. It is a work that is in the hands of God and the will of the people." In 2010, Pope Benedict XVI consecrated the site as a minor basilica.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Baden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Basilica In Europe”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Worth every penny to go in. If you can believe it, the outside is only a fraction of its beauty. In my opinion, the interior is the most beautiful site to see in Barcelona. Inside is REALLY different from the exterior - almost like a really dreamy forest. We went at noon and the line only took 15 minutes (March 2012). We spent over an hour here. There is no cathedral/basilica/church like it in Europe. It truly is one of a kind.

I can't wait for this basilica to be completed - I will definitely go back once it is (provided it's in my lifetime)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85,265
    18,607
    5,244
    1,146
    635
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A feat of architecture”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Sagrada Familia is one of the most iconic churches in the world, and rightly so. Its sheer size and scope, not to mention it is still under construction for another 80 years is enough to boggle the mind. The attention to detail is unbelievable, and you will not be disappointed if you visit. It is truly a remarkable piece of architecture and art. Not to be missed.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Don't dare miss it”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My second visit in September 2011 and the scaffolding inside has gone, allowing the inside to be seen in all it's spectacular glory.
This is Gaudi's masterpiece – at the same time weird, astounding, insane, peaceful, and inspiring.
You must go if you are in Barcelona. And when you go, take the lift up the towers and see where the work continues. You'll want to go back – I do!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impresive!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Is every thing beatiful, you can feel why Gaudi was a genius! He loved the nature and the sunlight. Be careful, there is a lot of people in the entrance and is necesary at least than two hours to visit all.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gaudi Architecture”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is the 2nd time I have visited the Sagrada Familia, and it appears to be fully complete inside now (last time I went they were still working heavily on the inside). It is such a stunning building inside, with the stained glass windows shining beautiful colours onto the massive columns that dominate the interior. The atmosphere here is amazing, very serene. I would recommend this as the no1 place to visit whilst in Barcelona.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing