We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ofelias Hotel(Barcelona)
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Pau(Barcelona)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercer Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$391/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pol & Grace Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
B-Hotel(Barcelona)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel The Serras(Barcelona)
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$431/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
224
306
165
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
306
165
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand derbyhospital clinicsants stationswimming poolpublic transportminute walktourist busthe air conditioningcamp nouquiet locationnice staythin wallsjunior suitebusiness hotelreception staffvisiting barcelonalas ramblas
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here for 2nights 25th and 26th October 2012. After reading previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive. Our room was spotless and beds were comfortable. The breakfast had had poor reviews but we had no complaints, plenty to eat and lots of variety. Hotel in quiet area but only a few minutes from the main bus route. We would stay here again. Some reviewers I think look for too much for their money nowadays,I say give it a go and you will be pleasantly surprised. Front house staff were very helpful and spoke good English too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leswull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful assessment. Our kitchen staff works diligently to provide you and every guest with a variety of freshly made morning breakfast to jump start your day. In regards to our housekeeping staff, they are pleased to hear that your room was kept to the highest standards. Yes, our area is quiet but located within minutes walk where all bus routes leading to the north, south, east, and west of our city. Front house continues to be resourceful and will provide you with the best options available that are tailored to your needs.

We hope to see you back here in Barcelona in the near future and have the pleasure of serving you and your family once again.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Hotel Derby is in a quiet out-of -the-way residential area. It offers a clean and comfortable room with a nice bathroom. There's a fee for internet, but I used the free Ethernet connection which worked well. Power adapters are available for use free of charge. There is a refrigerator but no coffee/tea facility in the room. The in-house restaurant offered a great buffet breakfast that was very reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and most helpful with directions, etc. There are 2 or 3 cafes/restaurants across the street, and other restaurants can be found in about a 10-15 min. walk, as is a pharmacy; and clothing stores are another 10 min. away. A small convenience store is 3-4 min. in the opposite direction. Hop-On Hop-off tour buses are also nearby.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top-floors would be best for a pleasing view, as my room which I believe was on the 5th floor looked out onto apartments backyards.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby After staying f with us, your feedback is just so important for us. i am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.



Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This hotel is not 4 star, a good 2 would be nearer the mark. The beds where hard as iron, the floor would be softer, the tv only gave one english speaking channel which was CNN. the internet was dial up and so slow it was not even worth logging on to check emails as by the time you were logged on the service that the hotel provided was over , then it was hand in your pocket time., The shower was not the cleanest mould in the corners, and the floor was always gritty. The area that the hotel is in is very residential and noisey , with street cleaner and bins being emptied in the small hours, the bars opisite the entrance closed at 1 am, and the 4 knocking shops even later.
We did not eat at the hotel so no comment, there is a pool in the hotel oppisite but i have built bigger fish ponds,
If i go back to barcelona then i would not stay at this hotel as there are so many others to chose from, we booked as a package through British Airways who had the hotel as a recomended, but i will let BA know your feelings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Derby hotel. I am so sorry to read that your assigned room did not comply with your expectations and I take good note on your comments, although, I do not have any comment registered during your stay.

It is very important to advise the reception right away if any aspect of your stay is disturbing you in order to give us the opportunity to correct it right away and find the best solution for you on time. At Derby Hotel our only goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and I am sure we could have found the way make your stay the most enjoyable. i feel very sorry that you have left our property with a bad taste.

Please, feel free to contact me direct whenever you will come back to Barcelona, I would be pleased to offer preferential conditions and ensure that your opinion will drastically change

Sincerely yours,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked a short break with a Holiday Company, and the Derby Hotel seemed to fit our requirements. It was rather further out of the centre of Barcelona than we wanted, but as it turned out, the district was a residential one, and consequently, quite quiet. We found that the number 59 bus went from a stop just a short walk from the hotel, and took us straight into the Centre, or down to the port, which was great. They ran frequently, and were mostly uncrowded.
There are lots of restaurants around the hotel, and most of them that we tried were really good.
Our room was spacious, and very clean. The linen could be changed every day on request, and the air conditioning was good.
We were on the first floor, and although the lift was a little noisy, generally it was fairly quiet.
Breakfast was included in our package, and was plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhydychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the days you have spent in Derby Hotel.
We hope we will be your option if you come back to Barcelona.
Thank you for writing such a nice opinion,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff helpfull and kind. Our room was in the 6th floor with a nice view and more quiet than the ones in the lower floors. Regarding the breakfast it was not the 15 euro worth. Also the days the hotel had many guests the staff could not handle the amount of people eating breakfast at the same time. The location of the hotel is good regarding the access to the public transportation and the distance to the center of the city.

Room Tip: rooms in the higher floors are ok, less noice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your opinion and we are glad to know your stay in Derby Hotel was great.
In fact, we will take note of your comments about breakfast in order to improve our service.
We hope you will chose Derby Hotel in your next trip to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews