We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Barcelona experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Ranked #150 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I was there for a conference and the hotel is well placed in the city centre and in the shopping blocks. Very close to the food places and the vibes of the city at night. The hotel design is retro and even the room key is a key with a heavy key ring to it ie not a key card modern hotels have these days. I left my room key a couple of times and the staff were used to that situation. Staff were very friendly and always there to help.

A couple things worth noting:
1. The hotel is designed for leisure visit as it doesnt have a gym and the pool is for social gathering.

2. I stayed in a room on level 1 and because the hotel is located above a train station, i often heard the noise of train passing by regularly. But i'll get used to it after a while.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms above level 2 to minimise the noise of the train from the station underneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peppy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTomasG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Peppy A,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to post a review in TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you had an overall good stay with us.

All your comments will help us to know in which aspects we shoud keep improving.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Don't hesitate to contact us for whatever you may need.

Best regards.

Ana Tomás
Guest Relations
atomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We have just checked in and the so called last room is stinking so much we could not even enter the room. The manager has promised us a new room tomorrow but please avoid Room 210 if you coming again
This was after pleasant previous visit

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yacoob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTomasG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear YacoobA

First of all we want to thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review.
We regret the problem you had with the smell in the room.......
I hope you will enjoy the new one.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes.

Ana Tomás
Guest Relations
atomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

First time at this hotel as I usually stay around the corner at the NH. The hotel is old and has plenty of charm in a classical style.
I had a room with a separate sitting room, ante room, bedroom and large bathroom with twin wash basins, separate bath and shower.
The check out was slow and antiquated but I suppose in keeping with the vintage. Im more used to checking out on the in house TV system these days but you cant have everything.
Overall the hotel is immaculately clean, well appointed and a superb choice at the heart of Barcelona at the top of Las Ramblas.

Room Tip: I had a corner room (suite) 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GoddardMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTomasG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear GoddardMalaga,
Thank you very much for taking your time to give us your opinion.
We are very glad to know that your stay with us was great.
We hope to welcome you again very soon
Kind regards,
Ana Tomás
Guest Relations
atomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I really loved this hotel. Great views from our room. Very awesome roof top bar. Even though I did not swim, there was a pool on the roof. Great views from the roof of Sagrada Famiia and all over Barcelona. Do not miss this. Our room was very spacious and immaculate! Great amenities including robes and slippers. We were one long city block from the top of Ramblas. One end of block was great restaurants - outside and inside- other end of block was the fashion street with every single top name storeThe Hotel itself was a classic hotel - not so new and modern that you did not feel you were in Europe! I cannot recommend this enough! Enjoy - we certainly did.

Room Tip: My corner room was a suite so ask for that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTomasG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words!
We are very glad to know that you had a very good experience in our Hotel!!!!
I hope wou will visit us again very soon!!!!
Kind regards,
Ana Tomás
Guest Relations
atomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
103
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the Avenida Palace, we were greeted from the taxi where our suitcases were taken from us. We were quickly given our key etc and our bags were taken to our room. The room wasn't a city view, which was disappointing and it was a low room meaning you could hear the metro (wasn't too much much of a problem but woke us up a few times). The room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable, however could have been updated. The bathroom was large and bright, the shower was the best shower I've ever had in a hotel!!
We were in Barcelona during the terrors attack and the hotel was the first hotel after the roads were cordoned off, they were extremely accommodating, offering drinks and food to people involved, space for the police, Red Cross and ambulance services.
The pool on the roof is more like a large bath but still good to cool off after a busy day around the city. The roof also has amazing views of the city and the Sagrada Familia. Overall this hotel has an excellent location, close to the tour bus main stop. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaTomasG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for giving us your opinion about the hotel.

We are glad to know you had a really good experience in our Hotel!!!

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.....

Best wishes.

Ana Tomás
Guest Relations
atomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#122 of 515 in Barcelona
2,049 reviews
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#94 of 515 in Barcelona
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#82 of 515 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#115 of 515 in Barcelona
1,778 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#163 of 515 in Barcelona
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $111 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing