We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room, unpleasant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna
Ranked #140 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I've just checked out, and been left absolutely furious with this place. While I calm down I'll talk about the facilities...

The room is average. If you're hoping for a sleek, modern hotel, this isn't it. My bed was firm but with a dip in the middle where the mattresses joined. The pillows are hard and thick, so I have neck ache. The air conditioning is feeble - it's better than nothing, but not much. The bathroom works but has seen better days, with loose tiles behind the shower, half-removed ceiling panels and so on. Personally I prefer a shower screen to a curtain that wraps itself around my legs while I shower. All in all, it's a bit 1980s. It was "luxury" once...

To their credit, the wifi is good, the room was spotlessly clean and there are coffee/tea facilities in the room. However, the kettle boils over however much water is in it, which came very close to soaking my laptop!

English TV choices are limited to three news channels.

Then we come to the "service". Check in was fast but brusque. Efficient but not friendly at all. These guys should walk round the corner to any of the H10 hotels to see how it's done right. They forgot to leave fresh towels one day, but the room staff were fast and polite, although even though the young lad commented that the lock wasn't working properly they did nothing to fix it.

On day 2 of my stay, I got up to have a shower and there was no water. None. I called reception, and was told that it would be fixed in 45 minutes - this was at 8:30 and I needed to be in the office at 9! No apology, just "it's not working" - yes, I knew that. She offered a complimentary breakfast, I said I didn't have time on the day but would have it another day, which she said was OK. The water was fixed in 45 minutes exactly, again efficient but a bit blunt.

I went to have breakfast this morning, to be told I couldn't have it as it wasn't the day of the water outage! I just walked away, packed and went to check out. The girl on reception was just unbelievably rude. She stood there, arms folded, telling me that the breakfast was offered "while" the water was out, not for any other day. And then argued that it was my misunderstanding that "a" complimentary breakfast didn't mean that. Whatever the rights and wrongs, for a €20 breakfast that maybe costs them €3 they lost a customer forever. Asking "what do you want me to do" with arms folded and a bad attitude was very strange. Try apologising, and realising that a €20 breakfast to keep a €800 customer is a good investment!

I will not be going back. I refuse to be spoken to in the manner they did, for an ageing hotel, and expect to pay handsomely for the privilege. Back to H10 for me.

Room Tip: If you must, ask for an exterior room so you get some light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Spock_NCC1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Gerente at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Mr_Spock_NCC1701,

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience in our hotel. You review is really useful for us in order to keep improving our services everyday. I apology for the incident you had during your stay. As you can read in order reviews, our guest satisfaction is one of our main targets.

If you give us another chance in the future we will do our best to make it better.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Location of this hotel is hard to beat. Central, near metro, sights, shopping and restaurants. Breakfast is very good with lots of variety. It is noisy- all the noise in the hall and other rooms is easily heard. Air conditioning could barely keep up with the July heat.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank OldGuy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Gerente at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear OldGuy319,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and for the excellent rating. I'm glad that your stay turned out perfect.

If you come back in the future it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

All the best from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The hotel is old. The last guest had a smoked on it before us. The bathroom has a no good smell. There's a new site on it and maybe the room's should be on a better qualification. I will not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Gerente at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Fabio B,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our guest is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We regret the incidents you had during your stay with us. We have taken actions in order it doesn´t happend again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The location is perfect for downtown Barcelona and the service we received exceptional. The breakfast is huge and of the highest quality. The bedrooms are clean, large and have a full ensuite bathroom. The small pool and bar area becomes your oasis away from the intensity of Barcelona. We had a meal in the associated Contempo restaurant and it was outstanding and reasonably priced with great service.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MWK499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Gerente at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear MWK499,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and for the excellent rating. I'm glad that your stay turned out perfect.

If you come back in the future it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

All the best from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Well located, professional and very friendly staff :)
I appreciate fast check in and fast check out
Very clean hotel, excellent breakfast, room is confortable but small
Rate is very expensive but during summer time you can expect very high rate

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 605zizou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaCataluna, Gerente at Catalonia Plaza Cataluna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear 605zizou,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and for the excellent rating. I'm glad that your stay turned out perfect.

If you come back in the future it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

All the best from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#74 of 519 in Barcelona
698 reviews
El Raval
Catalonia Ramblas
Catalonia Ramblas
#145 of 519 in Barcelona
1,648 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#105 of 519 in Barcelona
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#154 of 519 in Barcelona
1,597 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 519 in Barcelona
2,209 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 519 in Barcelona
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Plaza Cataluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Plaza Cataluna

Address: C/ Bergara 11, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: S$140 - S$715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Plaza Cataluna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Cataluña (previously Catalonia Duques de Bergara) is situated 50 metres from Barcelona’s Plaça Catalunya and is a 2-minute walk from Las Ramblas. It has an outdoor pool and free Wi-FiPlaza Cataluña Hotel is a 5-minute walk from Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter and a 20-minute walk from Barcelona Port. Gaudi’s Casa Batló and La Pedrera can be reached in around 15 minutes by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Plaza Cataluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Plaza Cataluna Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Catalonia Duques De Bergara
Duques De Bergara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing