We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BruStar Gotic
Nearby Hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sixtytwo Hotel(Barcelona)
US$261
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Melia Barcelona Sarria(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ofelias Hotel(Barcelona)
US$283
US$256
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$195
US$176
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel The Serras(Barcelona)
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$605/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$419
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
13
29
32
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
29
32
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifigreat locationgothic quartershowerhostelac
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Very very small bathroom that you hardly could wash your face without spilling water on floor.
The bed was awfull. Walls painted awfully.
Do not have lobby.
The pillow as shon in pics were very dirty.
You could hear other people speaking in their room.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bahram60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This hotel is one of the worst I have stayed and I have stayed in a lot. While it is in a good location, very close to the Metro and other attractions and the cleaning staff is incredibly friendly, it does not offer much else. The pictures on their website come nowhere near accurately reflecting the condition of the hotel. My bathroom floor is falling apart and there is mold growing on the stairs. The "massage showers" do not work but the rainfall shower is great. Great, if you want cold water. For the last two days of my stay, we did not have hot water, nor did we have any information from the hotel about why or when we could expect it. I had to heat water in my kettle to wash my hair. And the wifi is horrendous. Additionally, the hotel is serviced by long distance bus drivers so you can hear people dragging their luggage through the hallway at all hours of the night through the paper thin walls. I have a very high tolerance for hotels and this one caused me nothing but aggravation. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend anyone else to do so. The bed is somewhat comfortable if you don't need hot water, wifi or quiet to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed for 4 nights. Hotel quite well located - it was about a 7-8 min walk to the top of La Rambla and there is an underground stop at the end of the road. I liked the location as it meant we saw a bit more of the city than if we had stayed closer to the La Rambla area. It took us about 15 mins to get to the Sagrada Famila and another 10 or so to get to Parl Guell.

We took a room with a private bathroom which overlooked the road but didn't find we were disturbed by the noise, although you can hear/feel the underground from inside the building. The room was clean and an OK size - nothing fancy so I would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to use as a base from which to explore the city, not for a relaxing break where you want to spend much time in the hotel. Bathroom was small but fairly modern and clean so no complaints there.There is no public areas/bar/breakfast so do consider if these are important to you.

Got an email from the hotel before arriving asking for an ETA as the reception is only open until 10pm. Had our flight been on time we would have been there before the it closed but we were delayed - however the hotel had given us instructions on how to enter the building in case we were delayed and arrived after 10pm. Our key was on reception and we were able to fill out the paperwork the next day which was good.

Worth considering for a city break.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a double room. There was only 1 small window with a building opposite which made the room quite dark. The showerhead holder had broken and the toilet seat lid would not stay up, small issues but could be easily fixed. No breakfast options but there were plenty of cafes and bars outside the entrancr. Well located for Arc Triumph Station.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidLittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very old building with a converted floor as the hotel, room was very noisy you could hear the next room and reception talking as well as building work next door. Room was clean with a nice power shower but the lighting was poor and the bed uncomfortable. Good location but don't think id stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews