We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
498
416
155
48
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
416
155
48
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews urgell metro stop nice hotel adjoining rooms swimming pool recommend this hotel business hotel bathroom door min walk lovely bathroom hotel is situated quiet area city break mini bar long weekend tourist attractions coffee machine bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

My husband and I have loved the weekend in Barcelona, the city is beautiful and the people are very friendly. The hotel we chosed is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood ten minutes walk from the center.

The facilities offered by the hotel are very interesting. They have a pool with a cozy terrace, a very cute spa.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The spacious rooms, the comfortable beds and we have found the whole hotel very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiejuntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acevi H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very glad to know that the hotel has been convenient to you. We look forward to welcoming you again if you ever come back to Barcelona.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acevi Villarroel, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Stayed at this hotel 25th May – 28th May 2018. Ten minute taxi ride from BCN airport. About a 10/15 minute walk into the main part of Barcelona – certainly wouldn’t want it to be any further away from the centre.

Check in wasn’t the most pleasant experience. On arrival we were asked for 75 euros per room as a deposit. No mention of this on the Jet2 site when we booked the holiday. We explained to the receptionist that we had not been made aware of this and their only response was “It is on our website”. Hotel management need to make Jet2 aware of this and ask them to add this to their booking information… I’m sure a lot of people are caught out by this! As we were checking in two other guests were making complaints about the service they received in the hotel…not a great welcome to the hotel.

Bizarrely breakfast was served downstairs in the meeting room, there was no mention of why this was but it was served there on the three days we had breakfast at the hotel. Food was nice just a shame about the waiters and waitresses who looked as though they wanted to be anywhere but there. Very disappointing.

We booked the hotel mainly because it had a pool and thought it would be nice to break the sightseeing up with an afternoon spent there…found out the pool is actually closed until summer there. When we asked the receptionist when it is open she replied with “Not sure, maybe in July”. Very disappointed to spend so much money on a holiday and to find the facilities are not as advertised. Rooms were cleaned daily but the rooms we given had very little free space.

We also enquired about the dancing fountains as we were recommended them and two receptionists confirmed the show is on daily between 9pm-10.30pm. Got all the way there, waited over an hour, only to find out that the show is only on 3 times a week at this time of year and not on the day we went to watch. Hotel staff need to brush up on their knowledge of the local attractions to provide accurate information and prevent customer dissatisfaction!

Overall we wouldn’t recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona. Disappointing facilities for the price paid and certainly not four star service from staff.

Room Tip: Do not book if you want a hotel with a pool.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acevi H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We regret to inform you that the pool is only opened on summer season, always from June 1st. Due to bad weather, we could not get it opened in advance.
Referring to the deposit, we have to say that it is not a deposit for the keys. If you want to have credit in our hotel for all the extra services such as restaurant, minibar, spa, massages ... you can leave a deposit at reception as guarantee. But this is only in the meaning that you want to have credit.
Breakfast was served downstairs during some days because the restaurant was being renovated.
We regret for the inconveniences when getting info about the fountains, our goal is for the client to feel at home and we are very sorry with this issue.
Thank you for being our guest and hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acevi Villarroel, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I was expecting a 4 star hotel. By all standards, this is a 3 star hotel. Outside our room it was as if this was a shelter (look at photos). No amenities in room. There is a safebox in room. The room is clean, but it does need improvement. Fixtures are a little bit worn. Good bed. Everyday had to contact main desk since air conditioner was not working and it seems they control it from a station near front desk, as they would state that they had pulled temperature a couple degrees down. Cool room is important for me. You won't get it at this hotel. Maintenance guy from Philipines really did a good job at trying to improve things. Phone didn't work, TV had some issues.
Location is good, no worries about neighborhood. Safe and lots of places to eat around hotel.
All in all a good place to stay if you are expecting an average 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the AC really works. It is really frustrating.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pureluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acevi H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your comment about your stay.
We regret the incident with the air conditioning, because they are new machines, totally renewed and it is very strange that they do not work, in spite of everything they have been revised and they work correctly.
Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Barcelona.
Best regards,
Hotel Acevi Villarroel, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

It’s a bit of a walk from everywhere but the area feels very safe. There is a swimming pool for summer ( closed when I visited in May) . Clean room, modern bathroom but strangely a gap around the frosted glass door .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Oz5_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acevi H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is very helpful for us having feedback from guests.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acevi Villarroel Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I booked a twin room at this hotel to visit my daughter in Barcelona. I had stayed in Eixample before and knew it to be a nice area. The hotel was close to the centre, but was quiet. There are a number of lovely places nearby to have brunch.
The hotel room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well equipped with a shower cubicle and a bath.
Unfortunately, I had selected this hotel because I thought I might want to spend time by the pool, but the pool was closed for all three days!
I feel that without a pool and rooftop bar terrace this hotel was overpriced and I was asked to pay a 60 EURO deposit on the keys too!

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel if the pool is important to your stay. I got the impression it's probably never open!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CathJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acevi H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We regret to inform you that the pool is only opened on summer season, always from June 1st. Due to bad weather, we could not get it opened in advance.
Referring to the deposit, we have to say that it is not a deposit for the keys. If you want to have credit in our hotel for all the extra services such as restaurant, minibar, spa, massages ... you can leave a diposit at reception as guarantee. But this is only in the meaning that you want to have credit.
Thank you for being our guest and hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel Acevi Villarroel, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews