We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel, amazing location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #32 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Too many times us Americans are warned about how different European hotels can be. This was not the case with Hotel 1898, a boutique hotel in La Rambla. My father and I stayed her for 5 nights in February, and had an incredible time.

The hotel itself is just 10 meters off La Rambla, putting you right into the action, without the noise. I had heard that this area was not very safe, but I have to totally disagree; it was completely fine and we had zero problems. The hotel bar is very cozy, with couches and warm colors. The overall decor of the hotel is very mellow, with warm striped wallpaper and large black/white nature photos. It exuded class and comfort, without being invasive.

We ate at the restaurant in the hotel, as well as the bar. Both were fantastic!! I would recommend this restaurant even if you are not staying at the hotel, it was that good. The service and the quality of the food was outstanding. I am getting hungry just thinking about it!

The rooms are very nice, with very high end amenities and lighting system. There is not much TV in english, but who really cared. The room was peaceful and allowed for a great rest after sightseeing.

The downstairs pool and spa are really unique. Its like going to relax in an underground cave! I could have spent hours in here, it was really and excellent way to unwind after a long day. We didn't take advantage of the spa, but it looked very inviting. There is also a small gym for working out. All at no extra charge. Since it was winter, we did not visit the rooftop pool.

I would like to come back again in summer, and I would absolutely stay here again. Excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dgerson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,489 - 2,493 of 4,709 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We arrived in Barcelona and landed in the middle of one of the great holyday weekends with feativals and the whole city on its feet - and discovering that there barely was a single bed left in town. The airport people then got us a room at 1898 and we arrived there sweaty and tired - what a revelation - just entering the reception area the size of a football field with the elegance of a english library of earlier times - wonderful! Cool and calm with professional people taking care of you and the room was the first I ever experienced with windows facing into a tract four stories high - a sight so beautiful that I had a pickture of it as a screen saver on my telephone for weeks :) The beds are wonderful and the rooms beautifully decorated. Wonderful roof terracce with bar serving finger food and pool area. The only thing bad was that the omelettes at the great breakfast spread were made with sugar! Shudder! The rest was all pickture perfect! Best in Barcelona to be sure. La Rambla - the great main street passes the hotel and on the other side is a asian restaurant with great food and terrible people. Everything warmly reccomended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Best hotel ever! Fantastic! such a great location for everything, fantastic. Great facilities, lovely pool on the roof (with great seating area and views of Barcelona) and lovely pool in the basement as well. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in January on a romantic getaway and early Valentines and it didn't disappoint. Probably one of the chicest places I've stayed and was very atmospheric. Mood lighting in rooms where the whole of the lighting system will change throughout the room with the click of a switch, pillow menus, rain showers the works. It's location right on La Rambla means that you could just walk out of the hotel and be handy for everywhere including the square to catch the airport shuttle, taxi's or the bus tours. I found Barcelona an amazing city and very easy to get around and this hotel certainly made my stay. We went in January but I would imagine the roof would come alive during the summer. There was a lovely roof top pool which was heated and bar/seating area. Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

On a rare child-free few days away, we opted for the 1898 in Barcelona. Passed by it lots of times before, and liked the look of it, so booked for four nights.
We were pleased with our choice. Its a gorgeous hotel. It's so good location-wise, that we couldn't go wrong.It's about five minute walk to Placa Catalunya.
I loved the room, and it was surprisingly quiet, considering its location on La Rambla.
Clean bathrooms and bedroom, with our own balcony, with plenty of toiletries.
E25 taxi fare in from the airport.
We didn't eat dinner, but had great breakfasts. We didn't use the spa or pool, not enough time this trip. Too busy eating Tapas and drinking Cerveza! Did have cocktails in the Lobby bar and could have stayed longer on all occasions. Life is tough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikies_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 519 in Barcelona
922 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 519 in Barcelona
2,148 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,509 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 519 in Barcelona
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: S$257 - S$548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing