We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and chic boutique hotel in Barcelona/l'Eixample”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #32 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

A relatively small hotel, (only 6 floors), in the quiet l'Eixample district of Barcelona. The windows and curtains are very thick, we slept extremely well. The hotel is a half -block from the Rocafort metro station, and we found it very easy to travel in the metro here. The cars are clean and air-conditioned and run every few minutes. The decor was a mix of elegant and trendy, a perfect blend of old world and new trends. The terrace on the rooftop is a perfect place to have drinks before dinner. We would definitely go back.

The breakfast is typical hotel expensive, you're better off grabbing a croissant and coffee at one of the many outdoor restos along the street. Clean, good sized modern rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,038 - 3,042 of 4,705 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

I am a world traveller - my standards are high . H1898 exceeded our expectations. Althought this is a first rate and elegant property, the atmosphere is a casual, welcoming elegance Often times European Hotel rooms are closet size...not here. The upgrade to Superior room is well worth it - although after peeking into an interior room, they are roomy however nothing like the superior rooms - for just a bit more Euro. All staff at the front desk are top rate professionals. We were able to check in early - but do not expect this to be the case for you, as this hotel is highly sought out by savvy travellers and maintains a very high occupancy. I mention this as I witnessed a rather crass American ( of course) making an utter fool of himself with insisting being given a room at 9 am. The staff was un-flappable and handled it with class. The catacomb spa and pool is refreshing after a long day out - wrap yourself in the plush robes provided then make your way up to the 7th floor pool and terrace bar to enjoy a sangria, sunset and the skyline views. The LeMeridien across the street does not have a pool and friends of ours were not only disappointed with this but also the size of rooms and they paid almost E100 more. Take the Aero Bus for an easy trip into BCN - Get 4 day Metro Card and enjoy - after a second day in BCN both my partner and I realized that we would not try to see everything in our 7 days as we would be returning to this enchanting city and to H1898.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ckhonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We decided to move here after spending our first night in Barcelona in another highly rated (according to tripadvisor) hotel. The 1898 was miles better. It's 160+ rooms are recently (2005) refurbished, it commands a good location, and offers most creature comforts. Here are a few minor areas which could be improved: (1) many rooms are quite small, and despite the hotel's claims that rooms were specially soundproofed (100% wooden floors certainly do not help here), noise levels from adjacent rooms and corridors can be substantial, (2) shower water temperature can take a while to regulate. (3) aircon controls were inside an inadequately-lit cupboard, though still easy to operate. (4) lights are operated by a chip in the room key, so at noon on your checkout day the lights can go out as you're packing. This is a problem if, like us, you have one of the standard rooms facing into one of two tight courtyards. Whilst these are quieter (no street noise), they lack sufficient natural light.

Here's a longer list of what's really, really good:

(1) Rooms are very well lit (spotlights/lamps with four "mood settings")
(2) Built in safes (not standard in all 4star hotels in Barcelona)
(3) Electric kettles and tea/coffee provided in rooms
(4) A leaflet encourages guests to choose from a pillow menu (see photo)
(5) Mattresses are firm, cotton sheets have hi quality feel, towels/robes seem new
(6) Decent selection of programmes on sharp flatscreen LCD TVs
(7) Aircon works efficiently (digital thermostat plus Hi/Lo sessing), and is silent and odorless
(8) Convenient to have both overhead 'rain shower head' and a hand shower (but no bidet)
(9) Basement spa area (sauna,steam,pool), whilst small, is clean and rarely busy
(10) Reception staff are well trained, responsive and speak good english
(11) Rooftop terrace spans the entire footprint of the building... very large chillout/tanning area, and mostly overlooked by .. nobody.
(12) Whilst shallow, rooftop pool is large enough for a few strokes each way
(13) Views from rooftop are virtually uninterrupted (only Sagrada Familia is not visible)
(14) Four PCs/internet available 24h for guest use in common area, one with printer
(15) Free wireless broadband in all rooms
(16) Breakfast buffet better than most hotels of similar standard in BCN, choice of filter coffee or self-service Nespresso machine at breakfast, and made-to-order eggs (ours were perfect)
(17) Unusually high ceilings on all floors add feel of sophistication
(18) Lobby area is a well-cooled haven from the summer heat
(19) Location is exceptional ... directly on the Ramblas, one block from fruit market, big Carrefour next door, Plaza Catalunya just 250 paces away, old town & Cathedral very close, two metro stations (Liceu,PC) visible when you step outside the hotel ... this is probably the optimal spot to be as a tourist.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

The good:
-Great location (although la rambla is not a very enjoyable place)
-Wonderful roof terrace with pool where many hours were spent just relaxing and enjoying the wonderful view
-Great spa section
-Nice decor and botique feel
-Great breakfast - we found out that the epress breakfast at the hotel (~10eur) was much better than Lobo's breakfast.

The bad was unfortunately our room (standard room):
- It was way too dark - almost no daylight flowing in (the room was on the 2nd floor facing the other parts of the hotel building), and with only spotlights designed to keep the room fancy but dark. So it was not really enjoyable hanging out in the room and there was no way to tell the outside weather. Felt a bit like a basement room..
-The bed consisted of two cheap-feeling small beds with wheels which where pushed together to form a twin-bed, but which came apart as soon as one moved due to the wheels. I.e. no way to sleep next to one another.. I guess we just had bad luck and that they don't have the same beds in every room given that no one else seems to complain about the beds..
-Although the room was soundproofed so you did not hear other rooms, you did hear every little thing coming from outside your door, which included all the noise the cleaners made when they started their work early in the morning. On our floor there was also some sort of conference room which meant that a lot of people who did not stay at the hotel were passing our door and making noise in the evening..
-Small room which basically only had rooms for the beds and a table and our luggage.. But not a big problem..

If we would have stayed at the hotel during a colder period and would have liked to spend more time in the room I would not stay at this hotel (at least not in the standard rooms) and would probably give it a lower rating. But since it was summer and we spent most of our hotel-time at the incredible roof terrace, I have to give it a 4. If the room had been better I'd give it a 5. I think the price was rather good for the overall experience and the location.

Oh and P.S, I left behind a sweater at the roof terrace one day and when I went back to retrieve it a couple of hours later it was mysterously gone and never again found. It's so strange, because I'm 100% positive I left it there and all the other guests seemed like nice & honest people, so I cannot figure out who could have taken it... Anyway my tip is not to leave things unattended for too long at the terrace...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_matrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We loved this hotel! We were staying for 6 days in Barcelona and were looking for a hight quality hotel that was a great place to chill out but also was central and had great places to eat out etc nearby. This is perfect for that.

The quality of the decor and rooms is very high. Our standard room was on the small side (especially the bathroom) but was as advertised. We had zero external noise (from outside the hotel) but we were on the back. Internal noise was a slight problem, perhaps the door could have been better soundproofed? A very monor moan though because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

Why? Well the roof terrace and pool was amazing, we spent a lot of time there. Drinks weren't cheap (14e for a cocktail) but that is the best Mojito I've had in a long time, perfect for a sunny day. The cellar spa although not massive is really great too and brill for de-stressing.

Knowing that we had these to come back to after a day in the sun sightseeing etc was bliss.

In summary this place is excellent. A little pricey but if you fancy a splurge it's worth it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 520 in Barcelona
922 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#5 of 520 in Barcelona
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#109 of 520 in Barcelona
3,500 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 520 in Barcelona
2,408 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 520 in Barcelona
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $246 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing