We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,080)
Filter reviews
5,080 results
Traveller rating
3,811
975
171
66
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,811
975
171
66
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la rambla rooftop pool basement spa tobacco company superior room classic room privilege room pillow menu tapas steam room perfect location private terrace side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 5,080 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This is the best 4*+++ luxury hotel in the center of Barcelona, located directly on the Rambla and only 4 min away from Catalunia Square. The historic building is fabulous. Rooms are very big and very well kept. Bed and pillows are very very comfortable and you get an excellent night's sleep. Wifi works perfectly. The breakfast is divine, service is excellent. Very good price/quality ratio. Definitely recomend. Will go back again there.

Room tip: Ask for room 346 with a direct balcony to the Rambla
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catalin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear guest ,

Thank you for such a magnificent review in regards to your stay at H1898.

We prioritise comfort and quality in our hotel and reviews such as yours, confirm that we are accomplishing our object in fulfilling our guests desires and needs.

Please do not hesitate to visit us in the near future and thank you once again for your positive feedback.

Kind regards and looking forward to your visit ,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We had an amazing stay at the Hotel this was our second visit and was more amazing than last year. Thank you to you all for the wonderful service and exceptional qualities that all your staff showed us during our stay.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianechristinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear guest ,

It is always good to hear from a repeat guest and that this stay was even more enjoyable than the previous.

We appreciate your positive review and that our staff and service were up to standards.

We would be delighted to see you at H1898 for a third time in the near future!

Kind regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The hotel is very central and has all the facilities you need. Also everything is very clean.
The problem is the staff which is not very well trained. The cleaners are extremely loud when they start cleaning the rooms in the morning and you can hear every noise from the corridor in your room. Also at the reception it is difficult to communicate since not many of them speak English.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RedfordM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all we thank your time on TA sharing your opinion with us.

we are very sad to read the poor impression given during your stay. It is not our normal procedure and we take note of some points mentioned. However, we kindly inform you that all our reception staff speaks a good english as it is a must in our Standards for a Receptionist. Also most of them speak 2 or 3 additional languages as we do receive people all around the world and our major aim is to understand the guest and provide the best service possible following their needs.

Once again we do apologize for the impression given and thank you for writing on TA your opinion so we can improve with your feedback.

Sincerelly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Been there several times and it’s always great. The rooms are in a classic style and are comfortable. The bar and pool area at the top floor are very enjoyable when you want to escape from the busy la rambles.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kristinnp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear Kristinn P,

First of all, thank you for taking time to share your experience in TA.

It a pleasure to read such a nice review from a repeat guest, and to know that you had a wonderful stay with us as always. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Marvellous hotel, with ideal location. Terrific staff, lovely, comfortable room, with great amenities and beautiful bathroom. Amazing roof top deck with pool. Will definitely stay there again as we feel we got good value for our money.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jenniferannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for your comment on TA!

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we did accomplished your expectations. Our staff works very hard day after day to provide the best service possible and they will be very happy to know about your opinion.

Thank you and hopefully we will receive your visit again soon.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews