We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left a lot to be desired”
Review of Allada Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allada Apartments
Ranked #116 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 20 July 2017

These are called "apartments," but they are just hotel rooms with kitchenettes. It's just one big room, with a tiny kitchen area that is not functional for cooking. It's not appointed in a way that would make it comfortable as a long-term living space. I suspect they call them "apartments" to try to get away with a lower level of services than would be expected at a hotel. They don't clean the rooms and expect you to take out your own garbage, for example.

Another service they don't provide is a front desk. Someone is there a few hours a day to handle checkin and checkout, but that's it. They give you a phone number to call in case of emergency, but our U.S. cell phones didn't work there and there are no phones in the rooms or elsewhere in the building. We did encounter an urgent situation and couldn't get help from management. There was a mentally disturbed man (apparently on bad drugs) in the lobby area. I ended up sending an email because I had no way of calling the emergency number, and I never received a response. It's upsetting that management didn't feel that this situation required any action on their part. Apparently, guests encountering drugged out weirdos in the lobby is not a concern to them.

Another time we attempted to get service and received none was when we asked for top sheets for our beds. We were there in July, and the only bedcover provided was a warm duvet appropriate for winter. We were forced to turn the air conditioning way up in order to be comfortable. The employee did not bring the sheets promised and didn't bother to follow up about his failure to do so.

We did like the location overall, though it was better suited to someone there to enjoy nightlife than a family. I lived for years in the East Village in NYC, and it reminded me of that scene. It was a bit grimy and rough around the edges, which probably helps keep our excessive numbers of tourists.

The noise was a bit of a problem. When it was just a hum from the patrons of the bars/restaurants, it didn't bother us. But there was a time that there was a band, including drums, playing at around midnight, and another time a man screaming and banging at around 3 a.m. woke us up. There was also a lot of noise from things like doors banging from within the hotel.

There were problems with cleanliness. The coffee maker contained moldy grounds and there was a used false eyelash stuck to the bedside table. (Actually, the bedside table was just a piece of gnarled wood with an open top, which couldn't be used as a table, but it seemed to have been put there with the idea that it was a bedside table. I've included photos for your enjoyment.)

I haven't even gotten to our biggest complaint about the place, which is its ridiculous design choices. Most of these complaints were small, like the unusable bedside table and terrible lighting. But numerous small problems lead to guests feeling annoyed rather than comfortable. The most terrible design choice in my book was the bathroom, which was separated from the rest of the apartment only by a frosted glass swinging door. The door not only did not lock, it didn't even latch. There are gaps all the way around the door. So if anyone else is in the "apartment," they get to enjoy the sounds and smells of the toilet. We had our toddler with us, and there was no way to keep him from opening the door. I don't think we are prudes, but my husband and I prefer not to poop in front of each other, so needless to say we disliked the bathroom design.

The free wifi worked for surfing the internet, but we had trouble watching videos and using FaceTime.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cocolaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Allada Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest, we are grateful to you for taking the time to post this review, relative to your stay at our apartments. Your comments are valuable to us, to continually improve our service.
We are sorry to read of your overall dissatisfaction for our apartments. Please allow us to clarify, further.

Our website and Booking.com provide pictures of every category of our apartments. We offer more than 120 apartments in Barcelona with different sizes and comfort. We are always willing to offer an apartment more suited to your requirements upon booking, as well as during your stay.

Our team are available for you 24 hours a day. However, the Reception service on-site is available only from 10.30 to 18.30. Another Reception is located at Aramunt apartments, open from 07.00am to 03.00am, every day. We highly recommend guests use the previous, auto-checking procedure. We ask our guests to contact us the day before their arrival, so that we may organise this auto-checking for you.

We do have Wifi in the building, and this can be used to contact us, also.

Thank you for drawing our attention to the gentleman in the lobby. Rest assured that we took care of him, and he is now in hospital after suffering from food poisoning.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of extra sheets provided. Our guests' comfort is of the utmost importance to us, and this is not usual practise. We would normally provide extra sheets without any problem. We will endeavour to look into the reasons behind this miscommunication.

Allada is close to the Born, one of the city's most modern districts which attracts a large number of tourists. Its lively nightlife, large choice of cultural attractions and countless number of shops and boutiques, give this district its unique appeal. You will appreciate the challenges we face in attempting to keep the exterior noise to a minimum.

In regards to cleanliness, cleaning is made before the arrival, then once for stays with a minimum of 6 days. There is always the possibility to ask for extra cleaning (paying option). We also ask guests not to leave their trash in the apartments when leaving.

We can only apologise for the cleaning standard you'd experienced upon arrival. We will look into this further. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.
With kind regards,
Sarah R, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

After having made reservations 7 months prior (Nov 2016), 1 week prior to our arrival the hotel cancelled. They offered to move us to a property >1km away in El Poblenou that they cited was an "upgrade", but has poor reviews and not located in a part of the city we wanted to stay. No compensation was offered. As the hotel cancelled with such late notice all hotels in area already booked.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director General at Allada Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Mrs. Tara G,

The feedback of our clients is very important to us as it helps us to improve our service. Therefore we would like to thank you for taking the time share your impression.

We are very sorry to see that you did not like our 4 star apartments in Poblenou, close to the beach and city center. On the behalf of the Barcelona Apartment Team I would like to apology sincerely that due to an unexpected technical problem we had to reallocate you. Our apartments La Republica do have a very positive reputation and offer even a roof top pool.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future booking. I would be delighted to welcome you again soon in Barcelona Apartment.

Kind regards,
Sarah R
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This an aparthotel which combines the space and kitchen area of an apartment with the features that help in a hotel (i.e. a front desk that is open from 10am to 6pm everyday).

A great way to travel if you want to stay in a place for a few days and not have to eat out every meal. Plus the people on the front desk can help with things like restaurant suggestions and taxi bookings.

We were staying 7 nights so cleaning of the apartment and new sheets and towels mid stay was included in the rate .

Barcelona Apartments has a number of properties and this one in Allanda street in Born was perfect for us. It is a local neighborhood area (i.e. Not a lot of tourists) with a couple of restaurants and bars in the street. This meant with the windows open there was a lovely happy hum of noise on some warm nights but nothing like the sound from tourist/Irish type bars in other areas. We were directly above a children's playground which meant there was the wonderful sounds of happy kids playing into the early evening.

Our apartment had large windows ( there were others with stone wall features, smaller Windows and a balcony ) and there was lots of natural light. It was just one large room with a bed and couch but plenty of storage and room to move around.
The shower was a bit tricky to get in (not much space between door and basin) but it was a good size shower and great water pressure. There was some water leaking out of it until we learnt to turn the movable shower head to face the wall not the glass!

The location was perfect for our daily visits to Santa Caterina market for breakfast rolls and good coffee plus buying supplies for eating in nights. There are also a lot of great bars and restaurants near by including the famous Mundial plus a great social enterprise café at the end of the street. You are in easy walking distance to the Picasso museum, the main Cathedral and a lot of other main tourist sites.

Very happy to recommend this place for value and location.

Room Tip: Our room on 3rd floor faced the street and had big windows for lots of light but also very good blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director General at Allada Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear guest,

On the behalf of the Barcelona Apartment Team I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this positive comment. The feedback of our clients is very important to us as it helps us to improve our service. We are grateful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We would be happy to welcome you again soon in Barcelona Apartment. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future booking.

Kind regards,

Sarah R
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Lucked into an amazing 3 day visit here at this apart-hotel -- 3rd floor room, small but useful kitchen (toaster, microwave, fridge, hot water pot, actual dishes), and one of the nicest hotel showers I've ever had in Europe! I had tall ceilings and a wall of windows looking out onto the plaça, restaurants, and playground below. Little or no auto traffic - just voices and laughter and music echoing as they have for decades no doubt. Easy walk on historic streets from either JAUME I (8 min) metro or ARC DE TRIOMF (10 min). Best to find the Plaça from Calle dela Princesa first time out. Front desk hours are strict so plan arrival/departure wisely. It's worth it! You feel embraced by the neighborhood instantly. A few wifi slow connection issues, but I didn't come to Spain to be on my phone. Picasso Museum, Santa Maria Del Mar, Mercat de Santa Caterina are just steps away. 2 great bike rental places in the neighborhood. It's the perfect spot to enjoy this neighborhood in Barcelona!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Garnettbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director General at Allada Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your postive comment. The feedback of our clients is very important to us as it helps us to improve our service.
We are grateful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service. However we will make sure the Wifi is double checked.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future booking. We would be delighted to welcome you again soon in Barcelona Apartment.

Kind regards,
Sarah R
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I have very few complaints about this hotel, apart from the key situation. Yes we read the reviews about it but thought surely it couldn't be that bad. If you come in after 6:30 you have to go somewhere else to collect the key. If you're going there by taxi, no problem. But if you are using the shuttle bus and walking to the destination with no clue of where you're going, you're in for a long tiring walk.

Apart from that the hotel was clean, within walking distances of a lot of places. Couple bars literally on its doorstep and we stayed on the ground floor apartment and were not disturbed by noises. Jessica, the receptionist is an absolute gem. She was friendly, helpful and her personality alone gives this hotel the 4 stars.

Wifi was problematic for me, but worked well for the other ladies in the group. The design of the bathroom while beautiful, was not properly thought through as water leaked from the shower door.

I will still recommend it....to anyone looking for a nice little apartment style hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisheeka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R, Director General at Allada Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comment. The feedback of our clients is very important to us as it helps us to improve our service.

We are grateful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the service of our staff.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future booking. We would be happy to welcome you again soon in Barcelona Apartment.

Kind regards,

Sarah R
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#83 of 519 in Barcelona
721 reviews
Gracia
Gran de Gracia Apartments
Gran de Gracia Apartments
#107 of 738 in Barcelona
70 reviews
Eixample
Villarroel Apartments
Villarroel Apartments
#66 of 738 in Barcelona
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Feelathome Plaza Apartments
#24 of 738 in Barcelona
225 reviews
Gracia
Mila Apartments
Mila Apartments
#127 of 738 in Barcelona
113 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
La Republica Apartments
La Republica Apartments
#99 of 738 in Barcelona
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allada Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allada Apartments

Address: Allada Vermell, 6 - 8, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 738 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: S$133 - S$609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allada Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allada Apartments are located next to the Born, one of the city's most modern districts. There is a vibrant nightlife but also a great deal of culture, such as the Picasso Museum and the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Mar, and an infinite array of designer shops, boutiques and shoe stores. The beach is just a 20-minute walk away, making it the ideal place to enjoy the city both day and night, both in summer and winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allada Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Allada Barcelona
Apartamentos Allada Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing