We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time”
Review of Bar Marsella

Bar Marsella
Ranked #1,082 of 10,806 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Went there for Absinthe. The bar looks really very old and going by what every one was ordering, looked like it served only Absinthe. The staff are not very friendly. They did explain the correct way to have absinthe though. The drinks are cheap. My first drink was around 5 euros and then subsequent drink was 3 something. After 3 absinthe I flew back to my hotel.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jabber1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

Went to the bar because of the history surrounding it. Had an absinthe or 2 and just took in the atmosphere. I love that it's still in the original owners family and he tends the bar. He was more than happy to talk about it. I hope it never changes, which it probably will not. A Barcelona experience for sure. Don't go early.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MCb0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Despite the originality of the place, the staff is unpolite and unfriendly. I understand that it is not a problem for them, because it is always packed but don't count on me again. I left without ordering any drink.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank marquesa_de_parabere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We came here after reading about the history of the place and wow it definitely looks like you just went back in time! The service is amazing and the staff are welcoming and super friendly and very happy to recommend new drinks to try. We would love to come back here again ! The only downside is a loud group of american teenagers ruining the atmosphere but there's nothing the staff can do about that. Overall a fantastic experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank Magssss777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Talk about going back in time. Places like this are a wonderful reason for exploring the nooks and crannies of Europe .

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank johnStaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Bar Marsella also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bar Marsella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.