We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night back at the Barley Mow”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the cricket pitch in leafy Englefield Green, The Barley Mow is a beautiful pub with a cosy bar and spacious brasserie. Serving a seasonal menu of favourites with a French twist, there is something for everyone whether you are popping in for a quiet drink in our secluded garden, spending Sunday lunch with friends and family or spending a celebratory evening with us. Our new Autumn menu is a celebration of our French roots and celebrates all that is delicious and much loved about French cuisine. From our wild mushroom tart to pheasant sausages, rich, authentic coq au vin, tartiflette the list goes on! Please note that if you are unable to find a reservation at your preferred time, please contact us directly, via email or telephone, as we may be able to squeeze you in. We continue to be cashless and therefore only accept card payment. You no longer need to book a table if you are visiting our bar, simply drop by and we look forward to welcoming you and your guests.
Reviewed 20 May 2021

Fab to be back to our local. Missed so much. Food as usual superb for pub grub, staff so attentive and friendly. Trying to book again asap. The outdoor new seating looks very inviting!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danij1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarleyMow, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Thank you so much for coming and supporting us in our first week of reopening. Glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed an excellent meal in the Barley Mow. The atmosphere was as relaxed and genial as ever, and the lovely staff looked after us perfectly

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarleyMow, General Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2021

What a wonderful first review after our reopening. Thank you Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

We visited for dinner on Saturday 12th December. Our waiter Clive was lovely - great recommendations, perfectly attentive and very friendly.
The food was amazing and the atmosphere lovely.
We felt very safe with the covid measures in place.
Cant wait for our next visit!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank D4487PDfrancescab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarleyMow, Restaurant Supervisor at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Thank you for this fabulous review. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to Clive. We look forward to greeting you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Went on a Monday night. Looks lovely and menu reads well. Service poor and felt we were disturbing the staff chatting at bar. Food was no where near description of menu. I had a prawn cocktail which was stuffed in a very small glass and not very tasty. Could not compete with the old Chef and Brewer chain. Main course was their Christmas lunch. A stingy small slice of Turkey on top of a covering of bread sauce. A smaller dark meet slice and topped with a poor tasting stuffing. The vegetables sparse and unevenly circled around this like Redskin Indians road a beleaguered wagon. Desert was bread pudding which was probably the best but still poor. The cost was 3 times more than what the place deserved.

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank TopPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2020

Our food was first class as was the service we thoroughly enjoyed the lunch & will obviously return.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank glenn054
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarleyMow, Supervisor at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Great review! Thank you and see you soon.

Kind regards,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Englefield Green, Surrey
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.