We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not risk a parking fine as car park closed off !!”

The Fox and Hounds Restaurant
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 03/12
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$37
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fox & Hounds is an eligant, yet relaxed & atmospheric Pub/Restaurant with its picturesque surroundings, including boasting Windsor Great Park right on its doorstep.We have every setting you could possibly desire. The remote setting of our front garden section where you can enjoy your pick of foods, specially selected for our fantastic Bar Menu. A glass of wine with friends in our sophisticated Bar area with snacks. The regal nature of the restaurant where you can have that romantic meal for two, or even that business event you've been planning, or our patio area where you can while away the night with chat chat and fine dining.The Fox & Hounds has it all and we would like you to be a part of it. That is why we welcome all your feedback, opinions and ideas, so we can continue to provide the highest caliber of service to all of our fabulous customers, new and old.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Good service on both occasions we visited last week but we were definitely put off returning as on the second visit we got a parking fine !!
We were not the only people that this happened too!!There was very limited parking available at the roads inside as the huge car park belonging to the restaurant has been shut off !! Therefore be warned especially at weekends that if you don’t want to risk a parking penalty find somewhere else to go !!There were 10 people in our party who will certainly not return !!

Date of visit: May 2021
4  Thank davidmG3388WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

Amazing food!
We went to Fox and hounds today for dinner. Definitely the best pizza in area! amazing sitting outside under the tent, quiet and peaceful atmosphere and nice team! Ladie offer us special starter octopus and her team was very chatty, we felt so comfortable there ! We will come back definitely again ! thank you

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank B1422GBsandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2021

Just had lunch there (party of 4).
Lovely friendly welcome on arrival.
Service was polite, humorous, efficient and unhurried. 3 of us had different salads, I had the chicken red curry – each appetising and delicious! Oh, and we shared a bowl of scrumptiously cooked chips with our beers and lagers. All this sitting on a huge table in an attractive garden bathed in sunshine. The perfect finale to a walk in the park. It doesn’t get much better. Hats off to the staff and the chef and his team!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deltablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2021

Visited with partner for the first time for a sit down meal as now allowed to dine in. The service provided was terrible; as well as the actual quality of the food being poor. Further more any specific food requests were not met and i was made to feel as if i was being ‘awkward’. Considering the price of food and service at this establishment i expect my requests to be met! Asked for my steak to be very well done as pregnant and obviously cannot eat raw meat; it came out medium not well done at all! Asked whether the mayonnaise was homemade or not (as again cannot eat raw egg due to being pregnant) was told i would be informed and was simply not provided with an answer at all. We are willing to pay such high prices if the food and service provided matches the extortionate prices but unfortunately neither the service or food met the cost. I will never be visiting this establishment again.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank hardingbaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox_and_Hounds_1, Agency / Consultant at The Fox and Hounds Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2021

Hi Hannah,
It's important to acknowledge here that sometimes in the hospitality industry things can go wrong and establishments can make mistakes...we accept this criticism in the instances that it does go wrong and work hard to make improvements to make sure these mistakes don't happen again.
It's a real shame that you have chosen to write this 'review' of your experience with us when let's be honest, it's not that accurate is it.
The girl who served you is a fantastic waitress, what you have said about her is not fair or right. You never informed her that you were pregnant, neither did you inform me when I sat you down. The steak sandwich you ordered is £10 - I'm not sure where you could find a better priced steak sandwich than that, but if you can find one, I suggest sticking to that place. Also, when you asked if the mayonnaise was homemade, your waitress confirmed to you that it was not.
I'm really unsure as to why you have chosen to leave this review as you have not told the truth and I'm unclear as to what you gain from it. You never mentioned on the day that there was a problem and instead have chosen to write publicly about an issue which, had you raised it at the time would have been sorted immediately for you.
Perhaps next time, if you have an issue in a restaurant you are visiting, you could raise it with the staff to give them an opportunity to rectify things rather than go home and write an inaccurate review.
Regardless, we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us and wish you well.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021

Visited Fox and Hounds for the 1st time,will definitely be going back!
Absolutely superb Pizza and tons of Honey glazed Sausages for staters ......don’t go if your on a diet

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 421angelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds Restaurant also viewed

Englefield Green, Surrey
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Englefield Green, Surrey
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.