We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PORTUGUESE WAY 'Luxurious Paradore Upgrade'”
Review of Camino Ways.com

Camino Ways.com
Book In Advance
More Info
US$697.91*
and up
7-Day Camino Frances Walking Tour from Sarria to Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Exciting, fun Camino de Santiago tours and activities in Santiago de Compostela. Join one of our day tours, relax, and let us take you on a journey of 1000 years along the Camino de Santiago, its history and myths. Our small groups are run by friendly professional local guides with perfect English. You can also explore the places independently with our special Discovery Pack that includes notes and maps, with stories, details of the art, history.
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Excellent Excellent Excellent. Start point Tui. Accommodations all booked before your arrival into the Town. Therefore, you walk with peace of mind enjoying the Country side, sounds & sights, architecture etc. Added bonus, they pick up your bags and deliver to your next Paradore for you. You just carry your day pack. All accommodations were 5 Star and exceeded expectations. Only one was 3 Star as a result no option in the Town.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank robert_d_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaGolpe, Public Relations Manager at Camino Ways.com, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Robert

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Superior Collection properties along the Portuguese Way Camino route. A big thank you for travelling with us and for sharing your fantastic review. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We paid Camino Ways nearly 7000 euros for our Camino from Florence to Rome with baggage transfers. We were self-guided, no where in the descriptions of accommodations does it state that evening meals are not always provided by the accommodations booked. This resulted in one third of our Camino being on a restaurant hunt provided by the accommodations. Some of the hotels booked were miles from the end of the days' walk, necessitating a call to a cab firm who didn't pick up (and in towns where we know accommodation was available). Meals outside of booked properties were to the property owners designated budget and were mostly inedible with breakfasts being provided on a self-catering basis of long life croissants etc. We had no real sympathy from the director Roland Monsegu although he agreed to refund 360 euros for two nights he agreed were below "acceptable". We felt it was an insult to our intelligence to limit the compensation to this sum. We sought legal advice on our return and they agreed that although a definite Breach of Contract and Loss of Enjoyment was proven it would not be financially equitable to fight the case as they do not have a companies registration in the UK and we would have to pursue our claim in Ireland or Italy. We will not use this company again. Disgusted by their treatment of our valid complaints.

3  Thank Mr&MrsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaGolpe, Public Relations Manager at Camino Ways.com, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Mr&MrsJ

Thank you very much for travelling with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your trip. We always try to source the best accommodation available in the towns, as close as possible to the trail. We understand that you were unhappy about some of the accommodation booked for your trip and we have passed your feedback to our reservations team who are looking into the specific details for those properties.
It is correct that not every accommodation serves dinner in-house and they might provide vouchers for a nearby restaurant. We will certainly look into providing more information on how to locate the restaurants.
Regarding the meals provided, we are sorry to hear that you didn't always find them enjoyable.
We believe our customer care team as well as the company director have been in touch with you directly and if we can be of any further help, please let us know. Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Our cycling group was made of 6 adults and 5 kids. We travelled the French way from Sarria to Santiago in 6 days, taking 25km per day. I had asked for selected accommodation to offer either swimming pool or garden space for the kids. Each day we had lunch en-route, and finished at approximately 2pm. That was perfect and one of the best holiday we ever took.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Elias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaGolpe, Public Relations Manager at Camino Ways.com, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review, Elias. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time on the Camino. Kindest regards on behalf of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

camino ways were excellent. tip put their number in your phone with the country you are in code .

camino ways do all accommodation booking and give you walking notes which can be helpful.
we have used camino ways twice on our walks and will continue to do so for future walking trips. Buen Camino

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank debbie_bennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaGolpe, Public Relations Manager at Camino Ways.com, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Debbie, thank you for travelling with us again this year and for sharing your trip impressions with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the Finisterre Way as much as your previous trips. A big thank you on behalf of the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Booked a Camino tour for Lugo to Santiago for two people.

Pros:
- Accommodations were booked on our behalf were pretty good, absolutely no complaints about that.
- Maps provided were decent; good for finding hotel, however otherwise would be unnecessary (Camino is very well marked, we didn't use the maps for guidance).
- Luggage transfers were all successful.

Cons:
- Didn't receive Camino package in the mail; had to pick it up at our first destination.
- Only provided one Camino passport (had to buy second one on our own). Did not reimburse.
- Only provided one luggage transfer tag. Had to create second tag and contact help desk to make sure two pieces of luggage would in fact get transferred (stressful worrying about it).
- Written guide was somewhat useless. Again, Camino it's self is well marked so the comments in the guide weren't very useful. Suggested places for picnics were overgrown or not present. Indications of where cafés or snacks would be were vague and/or closed down.
- Written guide distances were inaccurate (according to Camino markers as well as overall distances travelled).

Note: We did not opt for the dinner plan add-on (breakfasts were mandatory as they are included in most hotel stays). However after calculating what we would have paid vs what we did pay by finding food on our own, I'd say they charge a significant mark-up.

The luggage transfer service and the convenience of them booking hotels was great, however there was a lot of stress created that could have been avoided.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaGolpe, Public Relations Manager at Camino Ways.com, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip overall , especially your accommodation and luggage transfers.

Reviewing your booking, we can confirm that your items were posted out to your first accommodation as we were unsure if they would make it to your home address on time for your trip. We do apologise that only 1 luggage tag and pilgrim passport were sent for your booking.

As part of our holiday pack we provide the walking notes for every Camino route, regardless of how well the route is marked, but it is correct that the Original Way has excellent way markers. We will have our products team look into the walking notes.

We understand you had booked the breakfast-only option and dinners are not mandatory, but can be arranged by us if requested.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our customer service team any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camino Ways.com also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Camino Ways.com? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing