We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$219
US$213
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Caleta Hotel(Gibraltar)
US$159
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$127
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal La Campana(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
AC Hotel La Linea(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$80
US$69
AC Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Con Dios(Gibraltar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Governor's Inn(Gibraltar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveller rating
568
829
383
160
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
829
383
160
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantveranda barmain streettop floorjazz nightcentral locationsun terracecable carcentre of townrock viewsmall balconylocation is excellentreception staffthe air conditioningshort breakhotel barbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Nice, clean and well-situated hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast does not impress with the variety of food but nevertheless it is good. If you like fried or pouched eggs you should order them direct to a waiter. The swimming pool on the roof is not very big but you do not come here to practice in swimming. Roof top bar serves mostly all drinks and cocktails. The hotel is situated in the center of the city within walking distance to all main attractions.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear Vladimir K ,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your feedback and comments which we really appreciate.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Staff are helpful and friendly. Fantastic views across the bay from rooms on the higher floors (if your room is facing that direction). The free Wifi is good.

However, many of the rooms in the hotel, including at least 1 of the suites, are in need of refurbishment. Soundproofing is virtually non-existent - if you have a room on the 7th floor under the rooftop restaurant, you will be woken up early in the morning by the sound of furniture being scraped along the floor.

The hotel's location gives them a big advantage over their competitors and hence they have a high occupancy rate.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear Sarbon,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your feedback and comments which we really appreciate, I will discuss your valuable comments with my team here.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Although this ranks #3 on TripAdvisor, we learned that this is because there are only two good hotels in Gibraltar. I knew the rooms would be basic, but they were just gross--old, worn, dirty (see photos). The common areas, which look nice on their website, in person appear pretty trashy (like the rooftop area with the dirty pool). The only two redeeming qualities are the location and the friendliness of the staff. But neither one of those would get me to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear JSplain,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for all your feedback and comments which we really appreciate, a refurbishment is planned for the hotel and I hope you will enjoy our changes.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Central location, good size bed, rooms could do with upgrade, overall ok. ate breakfast
out just round the corner, £10 for two, instead of £20 each day for two at the roof top area. Hotel prices for food and drink, room service price out of the world.
Got a 10% card off drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: High floor less noise
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tjv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear tjv21 ,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Thank you for all your feedback and comments which we really appreciate.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stayed five days in June 2016 visiting and attending my nephew Chris's wedding on the Rock. Our family and many of the bride and groom's friends (approx 50 people) were I understood all very pleased with our stay at this central ideally located well run Hotel. My brother and his wife have stayed many times previously and we were pleased that they had recommended the Elliot to us. The Breakfast room on the roof (8th floor) served good English breakfasts with nice sea views at the front and one side but could get busy at peak times around 9h-9h30. We had nice room on the 7th floor and found all staff friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend. It's a short walk to both harbours
and one street back from Main shopping Street but is thankfully quiet.

Room Tip: 7 and 8 Floors best for sea views but few rooms on 7th floor a little noisy under the Rooftop Gym.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bangobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear Bangobill,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your feedback and comments which we really appreciate.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews