We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$219
US$211
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$326
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caleta Hotel(Gibraltar)
US$192
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bristol Hotel(Gibraltar)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$127
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Miramar(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hostal La Campana(La Linea de la Concepcion)
US$64
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Governor's Inn(Gibraltar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Con Dios(Gibraltar)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,002 results
Traveller rating
568
830
385
160
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
830
385
160
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantveranda barmain streettop floorjazz nightcentral locationsun terracecable carcentre of townrock viewsmall balconylocation is excellentreception staffthe air conditioningshort breakhotel barbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,002 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

We knew that the refurbishment was ongoing however we had no idea of how bad the noise levels would be. It was never mentioned, although we were told that it should have been and this was an oversight. The noise meant it was impossible to relax in the hotel after 9.30am or before 6.30pm and this had a major impact on our stay.
The new rooms are lovely and my rating reflects my confidence that this hotel will be worth visiting in the future. In the meantime a few suggestions: Do something about the beds constantly moving when you sit up in bed. Dress the super kings properly: twin beds pushed together to make a super king need more that a sheet to combine them - a topper at least. Do something about the green emergency light which is very bright at night.
Other issues: We regularly met workmen or staff moving stuff in the lift who had it full of gear so we had to wait until they vacated it. This impacted as only one lift was in use.
Dining. The upper restaurant was closed so can’t comment on that. The outside terrace is good and food excellent. Breakfast: decent quality although was impossible to enjoy a peaceful breakfast. It’s nice that the staff are jolly but they constantly shout to each other even when standing next to each other. Must be a cultural thing.
Rooftop pool: Only accessible via three floors via the emergency stairs during our visit. I also would have expected a 4 star hotel pool to be heated.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YorkLadytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear YorkLadytraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I do apologise for the inconvenience of our refurbishment during your stay with us.
We are almost finished our bedrooms now.
Thank you for your feedback, which I will share with the team here.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our newly refurbished hotel.
with kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived Saturday 28th for 5 days vacation. We were lucky because there’s no building work as it was a bank holiday, but let’s get real we all know there’s refurbishments going on and scaffolding up so there’s no surprise!! The room was clean & refurbished & yes scaffolding outside, but let’s get real staff were polite & pleasant & under these circumstances I think they done the best of there ability! Yes only1 lift working but never had to wait long. If you need 5* go somewhere else! Thank you for a comfortable stay .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mollywiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Mollywiltshire,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you for your support during our refurbishment, which we really do appreciate.
We are replacing both lifts one at a time and that was the reason for only one lift operating.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon again.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

No complaints from a hotel undergoing major refurbishment. The rooms were spacious and clean. The refurbished bathrooms perfect. Breakfast was adequate but a smile or two from breakfast waiters would have been nice. Collecting the £10 a head from diners seemed a bit of a mission for staff and would have been better collected at reception on check in or check out. Super location to see Gib.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Count_colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Count_colin,
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us.
We appreciate all feedback and I will be discussing your with the team here.
Thank you for your support during our refurbishment and we look forward to seeing you soon again.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Used to stay in the O’Callaghan all the time. Last year was it!! Never ever again!!!
They could not run a ***up in a brewery. It’s not because of the building work, although I can see why horses are tied up outside and the ten gallon hats all over the place.
Cannot believe it’s still going on (years later), the holiday inn has built a new hotel in half the time this work has taken.
Only one good thing the staff are great, which makes up for the distant management with their trite responses on trip advisor which reminds me of a child’s attempt at “cut and paste” response of we look forward to your return once our blah blah…….
Best advice I can offer is if you booked through BA complain to them they are more likely to get you a cash “gesture”

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve1williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear steve1williams,

Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit and not a recommendable course of action if your sole objective is – as your post suggests - a cash “gesture”.

The Eliott Hotel is most sensitive to feedback from clients, especially in light of the prolonged refurbishment programme. I am sure you will agree, both management and clientele want the works to end.

We began down the refurbishment road as a direct result of customer feedback. The place was looking worn and in need of a major upgrade. That is precisely what we did. We do not practise “childish cut and paste” exercises. I respond to all reviews and make it personal to the reviewer. The phrase “damned if you do and damned if you don’t” does spring to mind when it comes to refurbishment, and we have complete understanding with our guests. From a business point of view we do everything in our power to keep the disturbance levels to a minimum. Also, our tour operators are informed and, in turn, obliged to inform their clients of the ongoing refurbishment programme. When it can be proved that a client was not informed of the works, our response is always in accordance. Were you not informed?

I am sure you know that a new build – especially in an easy access area like the Devils Tower Road site of the Holiday Inn Express - is infinitely more straightforward than a total refurbishment of an old building in a very inaccessible area such as Governors Parade.

I am personally delighted that you were so complementary of our staff and hope this response has gone some way to provide you with background information concerning our hotel.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Sloppy maid services. Amenities in bathroom very basic - just soap and shower gel available. Fridge empty. No complementary bottle of water. Noisy due to refurbishment. Expected much more for the 4 stars hotel and for the rate charged.
The only good thing is an excellent area where hotel is located.

Room Tip: Do not expect 4 star service! Continues noise due to ongoing refurbishment.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikyflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Nickyflav,
I do apologise for the inconvenience of our refurbishment during your stay with us.
We strive to provide an excellent service and we have a reputation for our service,I am sorry you did not experience this while you were here.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back once our refurbishment is complete.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews