We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Expedia.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
US$121
View deal
travelup.comUS$132
Official SiteUS$137
Hotels.comUS$124
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
828
158
50
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
828
158
50
17
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gay hotel rooftop pool black lace friendly hotel a great stay an upgrade comfy bed premium room location is great the ground floor great room central location the heart of the city gym atocha spain minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2022 via mobile

Weekend getaway in November.
Hotel pros: good location, great roof bar and pool.reasonably priced.
Cons: Rooms are very seedy and so dark, had to leave lights on all the time. Very dated decor, think 80s Miami vice!
High prices for bottled water. Do not recommend a stay here. Plenty of hotels in Madrid, stay somewhere else.

Room tip: Not busy in November. Pool heated. Rooms painted dark grey, black lace curtains. Ghastly!
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Munkey_chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jaime Garcia-Morato Reimunde, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2022

Dear Munkey;

Thanks for your review!

We apologize if we did not reach your expectations.

As your said, hotel is about the 80´s and remind us to the "Movida Madrileña" The courtains, the corridors, the lights and all the ambience it was made about the 80´s.

You can check all the info in our website.

We are sorry for this and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best Regards

Jaime García-Morato R.
General Manager
Axel Hotel Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2022

we came to madrid for a film & fotoshoot, the staff of the axel hotel was so nice to let use use the pool for the shoot and we stayed there as the whole crew.
the staff was super kind and welcoming and the service was amazing - and there was also a great entertainment programm in the evenings! from drag shows, to DJs - there was everything and much more than we could have wanted! also amazing breakfast. we will come back for sure!

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnaB11250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jaime Garcia-Morato Reimunde, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2022

Dear AnnaB111250 ,

Thank you for your wonderful review on behalf of the entire Axel Hotel Madrid team.

We are very happy to have met your expectations and to know that everything has been to your liking.

Our personalized service is one of our key points and all the team is always ready to bring the best Axel Experience to all our guest.

We hope to see you soon again!

An affectionate greeting!

Jaime Garcia-Morato R.
General manager.
Hotel Axel Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2022

Very nice hotel and rooms, staff is very friendly thanks Jaime!
Position is great next to the center, they offer very cozy and cool design rooms. Everything is very clean and comfortable, definitely recommended!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AleGuar_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jaime Garcia-Morato Reimunde, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Dear AleGuar_91 ,

Thank you for your wonderful review on behalf of the entire Axel Hotel Madrid team.

We are very happy to have met your expectations and to know that everything has been to your liking.

Our personalized service is one of our key points and all the team is always ready to bring the best Axel Experience to all our guest.

We hope to see you soon again!

An affectionate greeting!

Jaime Garcia-Morato R.
General manager.
Hotel Axel Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2022

I had a great time at Axel hotel in Madrid. All of the staff was very pleasant and helpful starting from the managers Jaime and Ivan to the bartenders Valentin, Nestor, Joanna and the rest who made my stay very enjoyable. The rooftop pool is something worth checking out. It is very fun and I met lots of new friends there. My room was clean, housekeeping staff very helpful. I recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also walking distance to all attractions and night life. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank danielaQ9838CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jaime Garcia-Morato Reimunde, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2022

Dear Daniela,

Thank you for your wonderful review on behalf of the entire Axel Hotel Madrid team.

We are very happy to have met your expectations and to know that everything has been to your liking.

Our personalized service is one of our key points and all the team is always ready to bring the best Axel Experience to all our guest.

We hope to see you soon again!

An affectionate greeting!

Jaime Garcia-Morato R.
General manager.
Hotel Axel Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

Gave us a free upgrade to room 6 and wow what a room
Lots of space lots of lovely soaps and stuff
Breakfast was really delicious- the juices meats cheeses croissants breads fruit everything
Sky bar was fun and got a free glasss of cava to start the evening off - fab view from roof bar

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnsE9330QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jaime Garcia-Morato Reimunde, Director General at Axel Hotel Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2022

Dear John ,

Thank you for your wonderful review on behalf of the entire Axel Hotel Madrid team.

We are very happy to have met your expectations and to know that everything has been to your liking.

Our personalized service is one of our key points and all the team is always ready to bring the best Axel Experience to all our guest.

We hope to see you soon again!

An affectionate greeting!

Jaime Garcia-Morato R.
General manager.
Hotel Axel Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews