We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MacDonald would have been a better experience”
Review of Ex Libris

Ex Libris
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Ex Libris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,252 of 11,794 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: US$14 - US$62
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chueca
Description: At Ex libris we offer traditional food with fresh products garnished with the chef's creation. It gives our dishes a modern look without forgetting our Mediterranean roots. Fresh garden products: vegetables and legumes are a great addition to our meats and fishes. A great selection of hot and cold starters, carefully and lovingly prepared by chef team, will make your meals, whether during leisure or business very pleasant. We believe that a pleasant and cosy setting in a central location (Chueca - Gran Via) is the necessary ingredient to come back for a meal again. We make an effort for that to happen.This is accompanied by the meticulous service provided by the sommelier and his team who will also be happy to help you, if you like, in selecting wines.
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Sangria was the worst we had in our 3 weeks in Spain. Mostly soft drink.

Entree was average.

Never received the water we asked for.

The steak was stewed, and tougher than Arnold Schwazenegger having a bad day.

The highlight was the service. There are wait staff who know how to scan the room and attend to customers needs. Then there are those who don't. You have all seen them. Eyes averted, attention anywhere but on the job, and they leave quickly before frustrated customers resort to semaphore to force the staff member to acknowledge their existence. Take one guess which category this experience fell under.

Dessert and coffee (when I left my seat to waylay a young staff member who was too inexperienced to know how to successfully avoid me) was good. Ok, the rice pudding was actually semolina, but since I love semolina, I was happy with it.

Would I return there to eat ...... no.

Thank evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelinfantas, Director at Ex Libris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear diner,

We thank you for taking a moment to comment on Ex libris.

Ex libris has been running for 12 years already and I suppose you will understand that if we did everything as badly as you say, we would have disappeared years ago.

We always try to do the best we can and in general people like what we do, so we have spent much effort these last years because the crisis and if we have succeed it has been thanks to our work to our constancy because many of our diners have trusted us and because we have believed in what we do.

We regret that you did not like anything about what we do but, from my point of view, you have been excessive.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016

I've eaten here twice in the past 6 weeks - trying the summer degustation menu in September and then the autumn one in October. I was enticed by its Michelin rating (not a star, but a listing) and the seemingly good price of 27 euros for the menu including 2 glasses of wine. But on both occasions I was badly disappointed. The food is not so much bad as over-worked and yet often bland. The 4 taster entrees in both menus had 1 or 2 good things, matched by the same number of things that didn't work. The mains were ordinary, and both menu deserts were simply unacceptable. Stale profiteroles for summer and dry carrot cake (?) for autumn. On both occasions we were the only people dining in the place the whole evening - which, frankly, is about right even given the price. The waiter was attentive (not much competition!).

Madrid is awash with wonderful eating places - including 3-4 wonderful local tapas bars just down the street from Ex Libris - and it isn't worth wasting one eating evening at this place. It certainly doesn't warrant any Michelin listing. A great pity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelinfantas, Director at Ex Libris, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

We are very sorry not to have lived up to your expectations. Normally, customers often leave quite happy with our gastronomic proposals, we will continue working as much as we can trying to increase the amount of diners that have a nice meal with us.

In your opinion our tasting proposal are ordinary, they are not for us: Picanha, Red tuna, Bao Pan Filled With tenderloin and vegetables or swordfish are new to us and are having a good acceptance, another thing is that you do not like those products.

Anyway, do not forget that we are a traditional renovated restaurant .... and that means ... our products are traditional even though we present them differently than traditional

Sunday through Thursday night not many people comes but midday and weekends we recommend to make a reservation before coming.

Greetings from the center of Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

On Calle de infantas in Chueca, it is a great central location. Unfortunately, that is the only good thing. The place was empty at 2100 hours and coninued for the next hour or so. Starters were good but the main course for both of us was poor. Fish dumplings were dry and there was no reason for the combination of the four main ingredients. the black rice was brittle. Then, there was an argument about the bill and no discount. I asked for house wine and was charged 27€. Never agin.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelinfantas, Director at Ex Libris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Good morning,
We feel sorry that your experience at our restaurant has not been as good as it´s used to be. Generally our customers leave our restaurant quite happy

The meatballs course which you refer was the winner of our yearly competition three years ago and it´s still in our menu because the people use to like the course.

I do not understand what you mention about the discussion of the bill and wine so I can not give you a better explanation.

I apologize again about your experience, but we always try to do the best we can.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Tasting menu was excellent, don't expect Michelin star excellent, but the price quality relation you can't beat.
We were very well treated. Had the tasting menu with wine, 4 different plates with 4 different wines. Wine selection was also good. The tuna tartar was delicious.
Will be coming back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelinfantas, Director at Ex Libris, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Pedro,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your meal with us, here at Ex libris restaurant.

We are glad that you enjoyed the tasting menu with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future, with our news menus as we serve different options every three months coinciding with the new seasons

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Middle to high range restaurant offering exceptional value with either a 25euro 3 course set menu or by using discounts off the fork. We had black pudding & an excellent octopus & potato starter followed by the Turbot in sauce. Reasonable wine list that was sensibly priced. Central and easy access. Excellent service. Could not be faulted.

Thank AndyandyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelinfantas, Director at Ex Libris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Andy,

Comments like yours encourage us to continue to improve our service. We always try to give the same service as we would like to have when we go abroad and we are really happy when we succeed.

We hope to see you again at Ex libris restaurant.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ex Libris also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Ex Libris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing