We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Principe Pio Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$108
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Paseo del Arte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Praktik Metropol(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apartamentos Blume Cruz(Madrid)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$310
US$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
565
65
20
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
565
65
20
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelbeautiful hotelroyal palaceclarins toiletriesclassic roomruinart champagnethai roomthai spanewly renovated hotelopera houseold palacerelaxing stayrooftop poolconcierge staffsmall poolstar hoteljunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a long renovation, the former Palace was transformed into one of the best places to stay in Madrid.

Attention to details, great service even in difficult moments (for example one morning when the breakfast was overcrowded) and everything tastefully done.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adinel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Adinel T,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

We would like to thank you for spending your time giving us your lovely feedback through Tripadvisor and sharing your opinion with

other travelers.

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding our service and décor. Our staff is dedicated to provide all our guests an

incomparable level of personalized service. I am delighted we met your expectations.

All of our team is looking forward to welcome you back again in your next visit to Madrid, to create for you another unforgettable

experience.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I cannot understand some of the reviews for this wonderful Hotel .In fact from some of the reviewers you wonder if they were staying at the same place. This is a Hotel where all the staff we came across were helpful & friendly. I think sometimes that if you give as a customer, you get back. The room we had was magnificent in this beautifully period old palace. everything that you could want was there. 6ft plus bed, so comfortable, a selection of pillows. coffee machine. plenty of good wardrobe space. beautifully decorated room. Bathroom with full size bath & separate rain shower,masses of towels very good lighting, always important & often ignored. I noticed also that the cleaning of the rooms were always checked later by a supervisor. First class. fresh flowers changed often. The hotel itself is full of Antique furniture alongside very modern & it all works very well. As its been said in some of the other reviews that the position is marvellous, great for shops, theatre, restaurants, the palace & opera house.one of the reasons we chose it. On the rooftop there is a swimming pool + Jacuzzi fabulous sun beds & towels, cold water all provided, there is also a drinks service. & it looks as though in the season the bar is open. BUT.... The red level is the best I have encountered in any of the Melia Hotels it is outstanding & certainly worth upgrading to. It is open every day until 11.00 pm serving tapas, snacks. cakes, etc. plus a full bar including champagne. all in a wonderful setting of the garden room or a very comfortable bar area. All included in the price of the room. This same room doubles up for the people that have chosen the red level to take breakfast. We have always said that you first impression is the reception, Miguel Arias checked us in with a great welcome & the lovely Lucia was just as helpful at other times.
I really cannot fault this Hotel & the way it is run.. Just perfect. I will return soon I hope.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank arundelmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Arundelmews,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

Thank you for taking the time sharing these wonderfull words with us and with our TripAdvisor readers in such a detailed review.

We feel thrilled because of such amazing comments regarding our staff, with special mentions to Lucía and Miguel, because all of

them work daily in order to make your stay unique.

Our greatest reward is a content guest with the desire to come back.

We do also appreciate your feedback about the hotel facilities and the Red Level area in particular. It is our most luxury spot where to

enjoy the finest service in the most exclusive and private way. We are glad this made you stay a comfortable one reaching your

expectations.

Our doors remain open for your next visit and we really look forward to welcome you back and make another unforgettable

experience for you!

Warmest regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Shared areas have a palacial feel to them. Rooms are well-appointed and slightly compact. Rooftop pool with pleasant views over the palace.
Breakfast is expensive at 70 euros for two with limited vegetarian options.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank fletcherflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear fletcherflash,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

At first place, we would like to thank you for the time employed into sharing your impressions through TripAdvisor regarding your stay

at Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques, as they are highly appreciated and of great value for us.

We work hard to maintain the high level of service and offer only the best. That is why we take note of every suggestion and comment

left by our guests as they are of great importance to us. We will pass them to the Manager of the Departments involved to make the

improvements needed.

I am glad to hear you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you soon and make

your stay a memorable one in every aspect.

Looking forward your next visit to Madrid in the near future.

Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

Very expensive hotel but top notch! Velasquez reproduction on every wall. Historical artifacts in every corner. The rooms are large and top clean. MODERN. Restaurant is very good. Ifmyou want the pool, ask before because in april it was not open yet!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butlere100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherVillanueva2016, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear butlere100,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

We would like to thank you for spending a bit of your time giving us your feedback about your stay through TripAdvisor.

We feel really proud about meeting your expectations in regards to the hotel facilities and service received. Especially, for your great feedback about our restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future during your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

truly 5 stars regarding comfort and service. location is great with Royal Palace at the end of the street. Short walk to Gran Via, Sol, Plaza Mayor, Mercado de San Miguel, calle de los Arenales, Chocolatería San Ginés and calle Preciados/ Plaza del Callao. Short taxi ride to El Prado, Retiro Park and Serrano.
Nice shops and restaurants nearby. Staff is outstanding. Nice breakfast too! We had a wondetful stay!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank carlablanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHColoma, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carlablanc,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Palacio de los Duques!

Thank you for your lovely review shared with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor.

I am proud to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and that our Team took wonderful care of you.

We are also delighted about your nice words regarding the hotel location, which is with no doubts, a privileged one. Surrounded by the

most important sightseeing points in the heart of Madrid and the Austrias neighborhood.

Our doors remain open and our team prepared to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews