We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants I've ever been to”
Review of La Candela Resto

La Candela Resto
Ranked #57 of 12,964 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$68
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Description: La Candela Resto is a tiny restaurant located in the center of Madrid where we would like you to experience a gastronomy travel. We offer three degustation menues: the long one, the medium one and the short one, with seasonal products and a lot of imagination. In La Candela Resto you need to open your mind before you open your mouth.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We've been here twice now - one before it had its Michelin star and one after. Both times, the food and service was absolutely incredible. It's now a must visit for every time we visit Madrid. I would recommend getting as many courses as possible. Whilst the price went up slightly when it received its Michelin star, it is still great value for money. The staff in particular were great - explaining every course well. I went for the half wine pairing, which is definitely recommended. Overall, an absolutely incredible dining experience, and if you have one fine dining experience in Madrid, it needs to be at this restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

This is a very trendy, cool restaurant which for a one star michelin is a welcome change. The staff are all very young but very efficient. The food is certainly different with some amazing as well as unusual flavours. We opted for the 16 course menu (12 and 20 also available) with matching drinks. It was incredible value for money at 88 euros each plus 36 euros each for the drinks. A real dining "experience" I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LaMaisonRiviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had a great dinner and what a good experience it was having the 16 course taster menu with matching wines. This is a small restaurant with superb food, wines and service. The wines are very interesting , some in very small production , the wine water is very knowledgable. The food is amazing, great presentation and unusual combinations. The gazpacho with fennel sorbet was a highlight but it was all good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

My girlfriend and I book reservations for lunch for this place the night before. We ordered the 12 course tasting menu. The food was delicious and there were a great range of flavors with a bit of everything between sour and sweet and then some. Service was great. Excellent pricing for superb food.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Myles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

It started with a dream. Dream to visit this restaurant that had been in our bucket list for ages.

We booked, waited for it, waited a little bit longer and then it came a reality. Everything and I mean absolutely everything was perfect or above.

The staff was very welcoming and I can surely say that they as well enjoyed our journey into this culinary daydream. Every plate was different and special at its own way. Everything was delicius as f*** and wine paring could not have been better.

Thank You for the bottom of our heart for this experiment which made our wedding anniversary more than perfect! XO

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Samppa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Candela Resto also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Candela Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing